Board of Trustees

The Board of Trustees of the University of Maine System consists of 16 members, 15 appointed by the Governor and the Commissioner of Education as an ex-officio.  The Board has full legal responsibility and authority for the University System. It appoints the Chancellor and each University President, approves the establishment and elimination of academic programs, confers tenure on faculty members, and sets tuition rates and operating budgets.

The system was created in 1968 by the Maine State Legislature and consists of seven public universities: University of Maine, University of Maine at Augusta, University of Maine at Farmington, University of Maine at Fort Kent, University of Maine at Machias, University of Maine at Presque Isle, and University of Southern Maine. Each of these seven campuses has a student representative and a faculty representative.