Committee on Scientific Misconduct


Any allegation of “misconduct in research and other scholarly activities” that is made against a member of the faculty or staff or against his/her collaborator(s) requires prompt, thorough and fair review. Misconduct means fabrication, falsification, plagiarism, or other practices that seriously deviate from those that are commonly accepted within the scholarly community for proposing, conducting, or reporting research and other scholarly activities. It does not include honest error or honest differences in interpretations or judgments of data.

Committee on Scientific Misconduct consists of at least six members, limited to tenured faculty selected to represent a range of disciplines. Faculty Senate will recommend potential Committee members who will then be selected by the Vice President for Research, who is the Misconduct Policy Officer. For any specific allegation or set of allegations, a three-member Inquiry Board of the Committee on Scientific Misconduct, appointed by the Misconduct Policy Officer, will conduct the inquiry in accordance with defined procedures. If an investigation is warranted, the Inquiry Board shall recommend that the Misconduct Policy Officer charge the appropriate Dean with appointing an Ad Hoc Review Panel to conduct a full investigation. See Policy and Procedures on Alleged Misconduct in Research and Other Scholarly Activities, section III. Appointments for more information.


  • Cat Biddle, School of Educational Leadership, Higher Education and Human Development
    (term expires 12/31/2022)
  • Jason Bolton, Cooperative Extension
    (term expires 11/30/2023)
  • Nuri Emanetoglu, Department of Electrical & Computer Engineering
    (term expires 11/30/2025)
  • Heather Hamlin, School of Marine Sciences
    (term expires 11/30/2023)
  • Shannon McCoy, Department of Psychology
    (term expires 11/30/2025)
  • Rebecca Schwartz-Mette, Department of Psychology
    (term expires 11/30/2023)


  • Staffed by Amanda Ashe, Director of Research Compliance

Misconduct Policy Officer

  • Kody Varahramyan, Ph.D.
    Vice President for Research and Dean of the Graduate School