Honorary Degree Selection Committee


Reviews nominations for honorary degrees submitted by the University community on a schedule set by the President’s Office in relation to Board of Trustees’ deadlines. The President’s Office will issue a request for nominations and nomination form to all employees in the fall of each year. Following review and discussion of all nominations, the Committee will make recommendations to the President. Nominations received in the fall are for degrees to be awarded at the Commencement celebrations of the following academic year.



(Appointed faculty serve 3-year terms)

  • Special Assistant to the President ex officio
  • Senior Associate Grad Dean  ex officio
  • Four faculty members (two nominated by the Faculty Senate and two selected by the Provost).  



Amber Thompson

David Neivandt

Howard Segal

Kirsten Jacobson

Scott Dunning

Lenard Kaye