Black Bear Award for Extraordinary Impact Committee


Since 2021, the Black Bear Award for Extraordinary Impact has been given annually to an individual or group at the University of Maine who exceeds expectations, contributes positively to the University community and makes an extraordinary impact through their efforts. The spirit of the award is to acknowledge outstanding contributions by those who continuously go above and beyond, and exemplify dedication to making a real difference. UMaine faculty and staff (full-time and part-time) are eligible for this award.

The Black Bear Award for Extraordinary Impact acknowledges and celebrates that our university community members have diverse roles across all vectors that contribute to the fabric of our institution and the quality of student, employee, and external stakeholder experience. Extraordinary Impact is broadly defined. However, this definition is meant to include contributions that advance the effectiveness of or contributes to the impact and mission of the University even if it does not require the discipline-specific expertise of the nominee(s). The recipient(s) receive a medallion and monetary award.

Black Bear Award for Extraordinary Impact Nomination Form and Guidelines:



  • Representative from the President’s Office, ex officio
  • Associate Provost for Academic Affairs and Faculty Development, ex officio
  • One representative from:
    • Maine Business School
    • College of Education and Human Development
    • College of Engineering
    • College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
    • College of Natural Sciences, Forestry, and Agriculture
    • Honors College
    • Cooperative Extension
    • Division of Lifelong Learning
    • Research
    • Student Affairs
    • Auxiliaries
  • Previous year award recipient

All are appointed for 3-year terms.

Current membership

Meredith Whitfield

Jessica Miller

Taylor Ashley

Dominick Varney

Hemant Pendse

Shawn Laatsch

Keith Kanoti

Rob Glover

Beth Hawkyard

Kim Wilson-Raymond

Shane Moeykens

Lauri Sidelko

Will Biberstein

Geremy Chubbuck