President Hunter receives Kenneth M. Curtis Leadership Award, Mainebiz reports

Mainebiz reported the Maine Development Foundation presented University of Maine President Susan J. Hunter with its 2017 Kenneth M. Curtis Leadership Award at its annual meeting in Bangor. The award is named in honor of the former Maine governor and is given annually to a graduate of MDF’s Leadership Maine program, according to the article. “Dr. Hunter demonstrates exceptional, dynamic leadership in the community and in the state and most certainly serves as an example to others,” said Jan Kearce, vice president of program impact and Leadership Maine program director. “Under [her] leadership, the University of Maine has not only welcomed some of the biggest incoming classes and attracted record number of out-of-state students, it’s experienced significant increases in fundraising and gained momentum on its strategic pathways. [Hunter’s] leadership extends far beyond her own campus as she creates a strong vision and strengthens the delivery system for higher education in Maine.”