UMaine News

Dean of libraries receives MLA Outstanding Librarian Award

Joyce Rumery, dean of libraries at the University of Maine, has been named one of two recipients of the 2017 Outstanding Librarian Award from the Maine Library Association. The Outstanding Librarian Award is presented each year to a librarian who has demonstrated significant professional achievement and service to the Maine library community.

Joyce Rumery

“It’s an incredible honor to be recognized by my peers and colleagues in this way,” Rumery said. “Maine has such a strong community of librarians and library advocates, and I’ve seen firsthand their commitment to patrons across the state. I feel amazed and thankful to receive this award.”

Rumery’s nomination included numerous letters of support from Raymond H. Fogler Library staff and UMaine colleagues, including President Susan J. Hunter. A number of librarians throughout Maine also submitted letters, including James Ritter, state librarian; Barbara McDade, director of the Bangor Public Library; and Valerie Osborne, former Northern Maine Library District consultant.

Nominators praised Rumery’s efforts to foster collaboration between libraries across the region and her commitment to improving the student experience at Fogler Library. Rumery has worked at Fogler Library for more than 30 years and has been dean of libraries for the past 12 years. During that time, she has overseen a number of partnerships between the library and on-campus services including the Writing Center, Tutor Program, and UMaine Information Technologies.

The Outstanding Librarian Award will be presented at the Maine Library Association’s annual conference on Oct. 2–3 at the Sunday River Grand Summit Resort in Newry, Maine. Richard Boulet, library director at Blue Hill Public Library, also will receive the award.