Board of Advisors and Patrons Circle

The Center’s Board of Advisors (formerly the Executive Committee) is a standing committee constituted of University of Maine alumni and friends invested in advancing the McGillicuddy Humanities Center’s mission.

Board of Advisors Co-Chairs

  • Kathryn Olmstead, associate professor emerita in Communication and Journalism, UMaine; former columnist for the Bangor Daily News (BDN), and editor/publisher/co-founder of Echoes magazine (based in Caribou, Maine), and Member, University of Maine Board of Visitors
  • Henry L.P. Schmelzer ’65, former Chair, Maine Public Broadcasting (MPBN) Board of Trustees; former President and CEO, Maine Community Foundation


  • H. Allen Fernald ’54 and Sally Fernald, ’55, Campaign Co-Chairs and
    owner/publishers of Down East Magazine
  • LeeEllen Friedland, President, Ethnologica
  • Timothy Garrity ’14G, Historian, Mount Desert Island Historical Society
  • Philip Hamilton ’85, Managing Partner, Diablo Vista Capital, LLC
  • Jeffrey Hecker ’86, ’44H, Professor of Psychology, University of Maine
  • Brian Naylor ’79, Washington Correspondent, National Public Radio (NPR)
  • Sandra Peters ’69, Educator (retired)
  • Lauren A. Sterling, Philanthropy Consultant
  • Dr. David A. Taylor ’74, External Relations and Program Development Officer for the Library of Congress
  • John K. Veroneau, ’83, Partner, Covington & Burling, LLP

Ex Officio

  • Emily Haddad, Dean, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences, University of Maine

Patrons Circle 

Patrons provide an annual gift of $1,000 in support of MHC initiatives.

  • William D. Adams and Lauren A. Sterling
  • Richard P. and Karin Anderson
  • Constance H. Babcock
  • Mary Bok
  • Lynn Boulger
  • Mark and Anne Cressey
  • Matthew G. Dunlap and Michelle Ann Dunphy
  • Timothy Garrity
  • Virginia Nees-Hatlen
  • Gregory G. Johnson and Carol Hancock, Founding Members
  • Barbara B. Keast
  • Parker S. Laite Jr. and Nancy L. Laite
  • Celeste A. Ringuette 
  • Judith B. Rowan
  • Matthew D. Smyth
  • Robert M. Swan and Jean W. Swan
  • A. Lowell Watson and Cynthia J. Watson