Board of Advisors

Lobster Institute Board of Advisors

The Lobster Institute’s Board of Advisors is a volunteer group that provides advice and counsel to the Institute regarding its research and programming priorities; and supports the Institute in implementing its activities.  They come from a wide variety of lobster industry sectors and geographic regions, and help keep the Institute in touch and in tune with the needs of the lobster industry.

  • Marianne LaCroix – Chair
    Director, Maine Lobster Marketing Collaborative
  • Kathleen Reardon, Vice Chair
    Maine Department of Marine Resources Lobster Scientist
  • Kathy Heanssler – Secretary/Clerk  Conary Cove Lobster


  • William Adler – Massachusetts lobsterman – Green Harbor
  • William Anderson – Maine lobsterman – Trescott
  • Curt Brown – Ready Seafood Chief Biologist, Maine
  • Jim Dow – V.P. Maine Lobstermen’s Association
  • Robert Fortin, President and Sheila Dassatt, Executive Director – Downeast Lobstermen’s Association
  • Melanie Giffin – PEI Fishermen’s Association Marine Biologist
  • Heidi Henniger – Atlantic Offshore Lobstermen’s Association
  • Herbert Hodgkins – Lobster Products, Inc., Maine
  • Geoff Irvine – Director, The Lobster Council of Canada
  • Jason Joyce – Lobsterman, Swans Island, Maine
  • Luc LeBlanc – Maritime Fishermen’s Union Representative
  • Bart Mansi – Guilford Lobster Pound, Connecticut
  • Ben McKinney/Luke Holden – Cape Seafood/Luke’s Lobster, Maine
  • Jack Merrill – V.P. Maine Lobstermen’ s Association
  • Joseph Pratt, Bar Harbor Bank and Trust
  • Dana Rice – Downeast Lobstermen’s Assn., Lobster Dealer, Maine
  • Remy Rochette – University of New Brunswick, Faculty of Biological Sciences
  • Arthur “Sookey” Sawyer/Beth Casoni – President/Executive Director Massachusetts Lobstermen’s Assocation
  • Melanie Sonnenberg – Eastern Fishermen’s Federation
  • Joshua Stoll – UMaine Faculty in Marine Sciences
  • Annie Tselikis – Maine Lobster Dealers Association Executive Director