

College of Liberal Arts and Sciences

# Faculty Recognition

Thursday, May 6, 2021 3:30 p.m. via Zoom



# **2021 FACULTY PROMOTIONS**

David Bradley	Professor of Mathematics
Ryan Dippre	. Associate Professor of English
Robert Meulenberg	Professor of Physics
2020 FACULTY PROMOTIONS	
Bridie McGreavy Assoc	iate Professor of Communication
Susan Pinette Prof	essor of Franco-American Studies
Rebecca Schwartz-Mette Associate Professor of Psychology	
Kristin Vekasi Associate	Professor of Political Science and International Affairs
2021 OUTSTANDING FACULTY AWARDS	
Teaching/Advising	
Research/Creative Achievement	Stephen Miller  History
Service/Outreach	Daniel Sandweiss propology/Climate Change Institute
Outstanding Lecturer	Natalie Machamer <i>Chemistry</i>
2020 OUTSTANDING FACULTY AWARDS	
Teaching/Advising	Bridie McGreavy  Communication & Journalism
Research/Creative Achievement	Samuel T. Hess  Physics & Astronomy
Service/Outreach	Liam Riordan <i>History</i>
Outstanding Lecturer	Paula Drewniany Mathematics & Statistics

# Special Thanks to ...

### 2020-2021 FACULTY AND STAFF RETIREMENTS

Department of Art

Laurie Hicks Catherine Russell

Department of Chemistry

Howard Patterson Jayendran Rasaiah

School of Computing & Information Science

Carol Roberts

Department of English

Murray Callaway Naomi Jacobs

Department of History

Jacques Ferland

Department of Mathematics & Statistics

Pushpa Gupta

Department of Modern Languages & Classics

Jane Smith

School of Performing Arts (Music)

Ginger Hwalek Nancy Ogle School of Performing Arts (Theatre/Dance)

Marcia Douglas Lucia Williams-Young

Department of Philosophy

Douglas Allen Roger King

Department of
Physics & Astronomy

C. T. Hess

Center for Poetry & Poetics

Gail Sapiel

Department of Political Science

James Warhola

Department of Psychology

Marie Hayes Alan Rosenwasser

Department of Sociology

Steven Barkan Laurinda Cartier Kyriacos Markides

Women's, Gender & Sexuality Studies
Laurinda Cartier

2021 CLAS Awards Committee:

Caroline Bicks, Department of English

Timothy Cole, Associate Dean for Academics

Emily Haigh, Department of Psychology

Natalie Machamer, Department of Chemistry

Jessica Miller, former Associate Dean, current Associate Provost for

Academic Affairs and Faculty Development

Michael Socolow, Department of Communication and

Journalism; Director of the Clement and Linda McGillicuddy

Humanities Center

Justin Wolff, Department of Art

## **Additional Thanks**

**Kelly Gilks**, Administrative Specialist in the Dean's Office of the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences, for handling arrangements.

**Brian Jansen**, Communications Specialist in the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences, for programs, website, and technical expertise.

**Heather Eddy**, Budget Analyst in the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences, for distribution of monetary awards.