2023 Faculty Mentor Impact Awards

UMaine aims to recognize exceptional faculty mentors who have an important impact on their students. Each year, the Office of the Vice President of Research and the Dean of the Graduate School solicits nominations for outstanding faculty mentors from undergraduate and graduate students.

Mentorship is more than just offering advice or guidance to our students; it is a meaningful and transformative relationship that helps students achieve their full potential.

Mentorship is also a powerful tool for promoting student success and enhancing the overall quality of education. By investing in our students and serving as role models, we can help them navigate the complexities of college life, achieve their academic and professional goals, and become confident, capable, and compassionate leaders in their communities.

Why recognize faculty mentors?

Mentors invest a great deal of time and energy in their students, often going above and beyond their normal duties to provide guidance, support, and opportunities for growth. Recognizing and thanking them is a way to acknowledge this investment. Thanking faculty mentors is a simple but powerful gesture that can have significant benefits for our UMaine community. It can help students build stronger relationships and show appreciation for the time and energy that mentors invest in their success.

Nominees and their students are invited to attend the Faculty Mentor Impact Award Luncheon held during Maine Impact Week, where winners are announced.

Check back in early 2024 for the next round of FMIAs.

Check out 2022 winners.

award graphic

College Of Education And Human Development

Elizabeth Allan
Susan Bennett-Armistead
Catharine Biddle

College Of Engineering

William Desisto
Raymond Hintz
Yingchao Yang

College Of Liberal Arts And Sciences

Matthew Brichacek
Liliana Herakova
Bonnie Newsom

Maine Business School
Billy Obenauer

College Of Natural Sciences, Forestry, And Agriculture

Seth Campbell
Walt Golet
Lindsay Seward

Posthumous 2023 Faculty Mentor Award
Betsy Webb