Room & Board Licenses
Example text of the Undergraduate Room and Board License is shown below. Please download Adobe Reader to view the Licenses in full.
Students must be at least 17 years of age and enrolled for a minimum of nine Orono campus credit hours. Students enrolled in fewer than nine credit hours may be eligible for an academic exception or disability accommodation, and must contact Housing Services for further information. Graduate student standing is verified through the Graduate School. Due to concerns with public safety, it is important that Housing Services know if residents have been convicted of a crime. Willfully misrepresenting or omitting information or failure to answer this question truthfully will result in the immediate cancellation of the housing agreement and will be considered a violation of the Student Conduct Code. Permission to live in on-campus housing and the residence halls with a conviction will be determined on a case-by-case basis dependent on the circumstances of the conviction.
2. Have you ever been found responsible for a disciplinary violation at an educational institution you have attended from the 9th grade or the international equivalent forward, whether related to academic misconduct or behavioral misconduct that resulted in your suspension, removal, dismissal or expulsion from the institution?
If yes, please explain.
2. Have you ever been convicted of a misdemeanor, felony or other crime, or adjudicated of committing a juvenile crime?
If yes, please explain.
2019 – 2020 University of Maine Room and Board License Terms and Conditions
- First-year Residence Requirement: Living on campus maximizes students’ opportunities for social, cultural and extracurricular involvement and is positively linked to students’ persistence toward attaining a degree. The University of Maine believes that residence hall living is an educational opportunity that all new students should experience. Living on campus is not required for a new admitted first-year student under any of the following criteria: (1) aged 21 or older; (2) a veteran or transfer student; (3) living with a parent or legal guardian within easy commuting distance (35 miles); (4) exceptional circumstances that do not permit them to meet the requirement.
- Academic Year Term: The Room and Board License is non-transferable and covers the entire academic year (late August to mid May dependent upon actual dates as posted) with two installment payments: one due in July and one due in January. The License is for the balance of the academic year if one enters after the start of the fall semester. All residents, except Doris Twitchell Allen Village/Patch Hall, are required to have a meal plan (board) for the same period. For further information about the residence halls and dining operations please visit our websites at: www.umaine.edu/housing and www.umaine.edu/dining.
- Occupying Rooms: First-year students may occupy their rooms at the start of fall orientation, August 30, 2019. Upperclass students may occupy their rooms on the day prior to the start of classes. Exact times and dates will be announced. For the spring semester the halls will open for new and returning students on Sunday, January 19, 2020 beginning at 10:00 a.m. Graduating seniors and graduate students receiving advanced degrees may remain in their rooms until 5:00 p.m. on the day of graduation. All other residents must check out of their rooms within twenty-four (24) hours of their last class or final examination and no later than 5:00 pm on the last day of final examinations.
- Room assignments and consolidation: The University, in its sole discretion, reserves the right to make room assignments and reassignments as it deems necessary. Sometimes, through no fault of their own, students lose their roommate during the semester. Students in double rooms whose roommate leaves will have the option, space permitting, to purchase the double room at the double-single rate for the remainder of the current semester or academic year. In some semesters, students in double rooms without a roommate will be asked to consolidate. In that case, consolidation for the fall semester will occur by October 1 and by February 15 for the spring semester. Students should not occupy a double room by themselves at the double rate while other students are paying a double as a single surcharge. At times, it may be necessary to house students in emergency spaces. Students will be made aware, upon occupancy, that their assignment is temporary. There are no discounts or credits given for temporary assignments. Students will be given a minimum of forty-eight (48) hours to move when permanent assignments are made.
- Room Changes: Room changes are not permitted in the first and last two weeks of the fall and spring semesters. All room changes must be authorized and approved by both the Community Coordinator of your residence hall and the Housing Director. Unauthorized room changes may result in a conduct hearing and a fine of $100.00. A Room Freeze will be in effect during the first and last two weeks of each semester. No room changes are to occur during a Room Freeze. Residents are allowed one room change per academic year.
- Check-out Procedures: All residents are expected to follow proper check-out procedures as outlined in The Guide to Campus Living. Failure to follow proper check-out procedures will result in an administrative fee of $100.00.
- Meal Plan Policy/Board Changes: Meal plans are non-transferrable; students may not use meal plans to purchase food or drink for others, except when using guest meals assigned to the meal plan. Students may change their dining options only once during the first six weeks of each semester. Limited dining services are available during break periods; students should plan accordingly and check www.umaine.edu/dining for operational hours during breaks.
- Room Cancellation: Students who cancel the Room and Board License by June 1, 2019, and remain students at the University of Maine will be assessed a room cancellation fee of $250.00. If a student cancels after June 1, 2019 or if the student fails to move in when the residence halls open, a room cancellation fee of $375.00 will be charged. Students who cancel the Room and Board License and remain students at the University of Maine after the residence halls open August 30, 2019 will be charged for room and board at the per diem rate plus a $500.00 room cancellation fee. The remainder of the paid room fee will be credited to the student account. If a student does not check in within the first 10 days of the semester, the room is forfeited and the student assigned will be charged a $500.00 cancellation fee. If a student cancels the Room and Board License for the spring semester, the $500.00 room cancellation fee will apply. It is the student’s responsibility to notify Housing Services via email, and provide documentation, if necessary, of their intent to cancel the Room and Board License. Any housing related funds on the MaineCard (laundry funds) will be removed from the MaineCard. There are no adjustments or refunds made during the last two weeks of the semester. Please see Board Cancellation (11).
- Withdrawal from the University: If a student completely withdraws from the University before the end of a semester, room and board refunds apply as follows: Room refunds prior to 1st day of class 100%; prior to the end of the 2nd week 100%, prior to the end of the 4th week 75%; prior to the end of the 6th week 50%; prior to the end of the 8th week 25%; and after the end of the 8th week 0%. No refunds on room rates can be made for short term absences from the residence halls. Board will be calculated at the per diem rate of the plan. Any remaining balance for the board plan will be refunded.
- Termination of Room and Board License: This License will terminate for those students who are suspended, stop attending classes (remain enrolled); or are dismissed from the University. The student will be liable for all applicable room and meal plan fees as described in (8) and (11). The student must vacate their room within 24 hours. Failure to vacate within that time and/or removing their belongings, will result in the student being held liable for all room and/ board (meal plan) charges accrued beyond the date of License termination to such date as all personal belongings and the individual have been removed. In these circumstances Federal Aid is not permitted to cover charges beyond the last day of class attendance.
- Board Cancellation: Any student who is suspended, stops attending classes (remains enrolled), or is dismissed from the University will be charged an administrative fee of $150 plus the value of the meal plan consumed or the per diem rate of the plan, whichever is greater. Students who cancel their room and board prior to the start of the spring semester are subject to an administrative fee of $150 and an additional $250 in dining funds. Fall semester: Any student who remains enrolled and moves out of the residence hall during the first four weeks of the fall semester will be charged for the value of the meal plan consumed, or the per diem rate, whichever is greater; an administrative fee of $150 and an additional $500 in dining funds for the student’s use through the end of the academic year. Students who move out of the residence hall after the first four weeks of the fall semester will be charged an administrative fee of $150, and any remaining meal balance will be transferred into dining funds to be used at any campus dining location through the end of the academic year. If a student cancels the Room and Board License for the spring semester, the $150 board cancellation fee and the charge for $250 in dining funds will apply. Spring semester: Any student who remains enrolled and moves out of the residence hall during the first four weeks of the spring semester will be charged for the value of the meal plan consumed, or the per diem rate, whichever is greater; an administrative fee of $150 and an additional $250 in dining funds for the student’s use through the end of the academic year. Students who move out of the residence hall after the first four weeks of the spring semester will be charged an administrative fee of $150, and any remaining meal balance will be transferred into dining funds to be used at any campus dining location through the end of the academic year. All requests for refunds must be in writing or by e-mail. No refunds will be issued after March 1, 2020.
- Rates and Adjustments: The 2019- 2020 Academic Year residence room and board rates will be available in the spring, after Board of Trustees approval as per this Room and Board License. Single rooms and double rooms occupied by one person, when available, are always billed at a higher rate. The financial requirements of the University, changing costs, state legislative action, and other factors may require an adjustment of the charges and expenses. The University reserves the right to make such adjustments to the estimated charges and expenses as may be necessary in the opinion of the Board of Trustees up to the date of final registration for a given academic term. The applicant acknowledges this reservation and agrees to the financial terms and conditions of the University by the submission of an application or by registration.
- Break Housing: All students assigned to continuous housing halls pay a slightly higher room rate. This rate allows the following halls to be available to residents during all breaks, including Semester Break and Spring Break: Doris Twitchell Allen Village/Patch; Knox, Kennebec, York and graduate housing in Stodder. All other residence halls will close fat 5:00 p.m. Friday, December 20, 2019 and will reopen at 10:00 a.m. Sunday, January 19, 2020. These halls will also close for Spring Break at 5:00 p.m. Friday, March 13, 2020 and will reopen at 10:00 a.m. on Sunday, March 22, 2020. Designation of break housing halls is subject to change prior to the start of the fall semester. Limited dining service will be available during break periods; therefore, students should plan accordingly and check www.umaine.edu/dining for operational hours during breaks.
- Use of Rooms: Residence rooms shall be used only as student-living rooms. No commercial operation is allowed in residence halls. All University owned furniture must remain in student rooms, and no personally built loft beds may be used in University owned residence halls. There is no storage space available on campus.
- Guest Policy: The University permits visitation but not cohabitation. Guests are permitted to remain in a student room for no more than two (2) consecutive nights in a one week period and may only visit in a room with the consent of both roommates. Residents are responsible for informing their guests about campus regulations and may be held accountable for the behavior of their guests. Guests should be escorted throughout the residence halls and not permitted to remain in a student room without the student host present.
- Safety Inspections and Maintenance: The University reserves the right to inspect residence hall rooms, apartments, and suites for health and safety reasons without notice. Auxiliary Services’ authorized routine and emergency repairs may be made during the normal working day without notice. Rooms are normally inspected three times per year. The University’s approved Pest Control Service periodically performs inspection of residence hall rooms for insect control purposes. Residents must allow appropriate University and Pest Management personnel to enter rooms for pest control inspection unless a prior medical exception has been filed at the Housing office. This may require inspection of personal items, bed, furniture, closet, desk and chair, bureau, floor and walls to complete the inspection. Information about pest control services is available by contacting Housing Services. Only the University’s approved Pest Control Service is permitted to perform inspection of residence hall rooms. Students may request a pest inspection of their residence hall room through Housing Services.
- Insurance: The University of Maine provides no insurance for personal possessions. Students must have their own property insurance or be included under their family’s property insurance policy.
- Financial Responsibility: Students assigned to given rooms(s) will be held financially responsible for damages beyond normal wear and tear to the room(s) and furnishings.
- Damages to Community Areas: Students assigned to a given residence hall will be financially accountable for damages in common areas of the hall such as elevators corridors, lobbies, lounges, restrooms, stairwells and furnishings. Where excessive or frequent damage or the need for excessive cleaning occurs, Auxiliary Services reserves the right to hold the occupants of an entire living area, floor, or hall responsible for such damages.
- Compliance: The student agrees to pay all fees specified, to comply with all rules and regulations of the University of Maine, the provisions of the Student Handbook, the Terms and Conditions of this license, the Guide to Campus Living, the Student Conduct Code, and any addendum, as well as other University policies and procedures. Failure to fulfill any of the terms of the above may lead to termination of this agreement, removal from University-owned housing, and referral to the Office of Community Standards, Rights and Responsibilities. The University may immediately remove a student from the residence halls if the student presents a danger to safety or property. Students removed from University housing for disciplinary reasons will be subject to the standard room cancellation fees as those students who choose to cancel their Room and Board License agreement (8).