Graduate Student Directory

Baron, Amy M.

Program: M.S.
Adviser: Dr. Brian Olsen
Email: amy.baron@maine.edu
Location: 204 Clapp Greenhouse


Bickerman-Martens, Kalyn

Program: Ph.D.
Research Topic: Native bumblebee heath
Adviser: Dr. Frank Drummond
Email: kalyn.bickerman@maine.edu
Website: https://umaine.edu/ecologyandenvironmentalsciences/people/kalyn-bickerman/
Location: 209D Deering Hall


Birthisel, Sonja

Program: Ph.D.
Research Topic: Agronomic weeds and climate change
Adviser: Dr. Eric Gallandt
Email: sonja.birthisel@maine.edu
Website: https://umaine.edu/weedecology/
Location: 203 Roger Clapp Greenhouse


Boxler, Brandon

Program: M.S.
Research Topic: Monarch Butterfly Migration Stop-over Habitats
Adviser: Dr. Cynthia Loftin
Email: brandon.boxler@maine.edu
Location: 232A Nutting Hall


Burpee, Benjamin

Program: Ph.D.
Research Topic: Arctic and Alpine glacial lake ecology, climate change
Adviser: Dr. Jacquelyn Gill
Email: benjamin.burpee@maine.edu
Location: 128 Sawyer Hall


Case, Tyler

Program: M.S.
Research Topic: Monilinia vaccinii-corymbosi, a fungus which causes mummyberry disease on lowbush blueberry plants (Vaccinium angustifolium)
Adviser: Dr. Seanna Annis
Email: tyler.case@maine.edu
Website: https://umaine.edu/ecologyandenvironmentalsciences/people/tyler-case/
Location: 11 Deering Hall


Chang, Hsiao-yun

Program: Ph.D.
Research Topic: Northern shrimp and climate change
Adviser: Dr. Yong Chen
Email: hsiaoyun.chang@maine.edu
Location: 225 Libby Hall


Conway, Meaghan

Program: Ph.D.
Research Topic: Specialization, niche evolution, and diversification
Adviser: Dr. Brian Olsen
Email: meaghan.conway@maine.edu
Website: tidalmarshbirds.org
Location: 206 Roger Clapp Greenhouse


DeFranco, Elyse

Program: M.S.
Research Topic: Human dimensions of white-tailed deer management
Adviser: Dr. Carly Sponarski
Email: elyse.defranco@maine.edu
Website: http://elysedefranco.wixsite.com/elysedefranco
Location: 202 Nutting Hall


Dill, Griffin

Program: Ph.D.
Adviser: Dr. Eleanor Groden
Email: griffin.dill@maine.edu


Du Clos, Brianne

Program: Ph.D.
Adviser: Dr. Frank Drummond
Email: brianne.duclos@maine.edu


Erdman, Bradley

Program: Ph.D.
Adviser: Dr. Michael Kinnison
Email: bradley.erdman@maine.edu


Fowler, Rachel

Program: Ph.D.
Research Topic: Lake Ecology
Advisers: Dr. Jasmine Saros
Email: rachel.dicker@maine.edu
Website: https://umaine.edu/ecologyandenvironmentalsciences/graduate-programs/meet-graduate-students/rachel-dicker/
Location: 128 Sawyer Research Labs


Fox, Emma

Program: Ph.D.
Research Topic: Multi-criteria decision analysis and hydropower costing
Advisers: Dr. Sharon Klein
Email: emma.fox@maine.edu
Website: https://umaine.edu/ecologyandenvironmentalsciences/graduate-programs/meet-graduate-students/emma-fox/
Location: 306 Winslow Hall


Garey, Laura

Program: M.S.
Adviser: Dr. Brian Olsen
Email: laura.garey@maine.edu
Location: 206 Clapp Greenhouse


Gavin, Amanda

Program: M.S.
Research Topic: Recovery from acidification in lakes
Adviser: Dr. Sarah Nelson
Email: amanda.gavin@maine.edu
Location: 231 Nutting Hall


Gray, Carrie

Program: Ph.D.
Research Topic: Winter and migration ecology of Red-throated Loons
Adviser: Dr. Brian Olsen
Email: carrie.e.osborne@maine.edu
Location: 204 Clapp Greenhouse


Groff, Dulcinea

Program: Ph.D.
Research Topic: Paleoecology, paleoclimate, biogeochemistry, coupled natural-human systems
Adviser: Dr. Jacquelyn Gill
Email: dulcinea.groff@maine.edu
Website: https://umaine.edu/ecologyandenvironmentalsciences/graduate-programs/meet-graduate-students/dulcinea-groff/
Location: 110 Sawyer Hall


Hamley, Catherine

Program: M.S.
Adviser: Dr. Jacquelyn Gill
Email: catherine.hamley@maine.edu
Location: 128 Sawyer Hall


Hensley, Vanessa

Program: M.S.
Email: vanessa.hensley@maine.edu
Location: 368 Hitchner Hall


Hess, Megan

Program: M.S.
Research Topic: Dragonfly Mercury Project
Advisers: Dr. Hamish Greig and Dr. Sarah Nelson
Email: megan.hess@maine.edu
Location: 231 Nutting Hall


Homola, Jared

Program: Ph.D.
Research Topic: Eco-evolutionary consequences of environmental change
Advisers: Dr. Michael Kinnison and Dr. Cynthia Loftin
Email: jared.homola@maine.edu
Website: jaredhomola.weebly.com
Location: 307 Murray Hall


Horne, Lydia

Program: Ph.D.
Research Topic: Human dimensions of climate change
Advisers: Dr. Sandra De Urioste-Stone
Email: lydia.horne@maine.edu
Website: https://umaine.edu/ecologyandenvironmentalsciences/lydia-horne/
Location: 251 Nutting Hall


Kireta, Amy R.

Program: Ph.D
Research Topic: Lake water quality, climate change
Adviser: Dr. Jasmine Saros
Email: amy.kireta@maine.edu
Website: http://climatechange.umaine.edu/people/profile/amy_kireta
Location: 110 Sawyer


Kizhakkepurakkal, Sibi

Program: Ph.D.
Research Topic: Acidification Recovery Response of Bear Brook Watershed
Adviser: Dr. Ivan Fernandez
Email: sibi.kizhakkepurakkal@maine.edu
Location: 116 Deering Hall


Leach, Megan

Program: M.S.
Adviser: Dr. Frank Drummond
Email: megan.leach@maine.edu
Location: 313 Deering Hall


MacDonald, Brooke

Program: M.S.
Research Topic: Lead Poisoning in Common Loons
Co-Advisers: Dr. Sandra de Urioste-Stone and Dr. David Evers
Email: brooke.hafford@maine.edu
Website: https://umaine.edu/ecologyandenvironmentalsciences/brooke-macdonald/
Location: 251 Nutting Hall


McCollough, Margaret

Program: M.S.
Research Topic: Weed management in organic grains
Adviser: Dr. Eric Gallandt
Email: margaret.mccollough@maine.edu
Website: http://umaine.edu/weedecology/personnel/
Location: 201 Roger Clapp Greenhouse


McLachlan, Jack

Program: Ph.D.
Research Topic:
Adviser: Dr. Hamish Greig
Email: jack.mclachlan@maine.edu
Website: https://umaine.edu/ecologyandenvironmentalsciences/graduate-programs/meet-graduate-students/jack-mclachlan/
Location: 217 A Deering Hall


Morgan, Andrew

Program: M.S.
Research Topic: Risk perceptions of metal mining
Advisers: Dr. Sandra de Urioste-Stone
Email: andrew.morgan@maine.edu
Location: 128 Nutting Hall


Paisker, Mitchell

Program: M.S.
Research Topic:
Stream-Forest interface subsidy exchange
Advisers:
Dr. Hamish Greig and Dr. Amanda Klemmer
Website:
https://umaine.edu/ecologyandenvironmentalsciences/mitchell-paisker/
Location:
209 Deering


Pedraza Garzon, Edna

Program: Ph.D.
Adviser: Dr. Jasmine Saros
Email: edna.pedraza@maine.edu
Location: 127 Sawyer Hall


Pellowe, Kara

Program: Ph.D.
Research Topic:
Resilience of small-scale fisheries in Baja, Mexico
Advisers:
Dr. Heather Leslie
Website:
https://umaine.edu/leslie-lab/
Location:
Darling Marine Center


Patel, Kaizad

Program: Ph.D.
Research Topic:
Forest soil biogeochemistry, particularly nitrogen dynamics, in response to environmental drivers.
Adviser:
Dr. Ivan Fernandez
Email: kaizad.patel@maine.edu
Website:
https://umaine.edu/ecologyandenvironmentalsciences/graduate-programs/meet-graduate-students/kaizad-patel/
Location:
Deering


Peterson, Trevor

Program: Ph.D.
Research Topic: Assessing spatial and temporal patterns in a large set of offshore acoustic bat monitoring conducted in the Gulf of Maine, mid-Atlantic coast, and the Great Lakes regions.
Adviser: Dr. Brian McGill
Email: trevor.peterson@maine.edu
Location: 304 Deering Hall


Ramberg-Phil, Nicole

Program: Ph.D.
Research Topic:
Adviser: Dr. Hamish Greig
Email: nicole.rambergphil@maine.edu
Location: 211 Deering Hall


Ruppert, Kirstie

Program: Ph.D.
Research Topic:
Human dimensions of giraffe conservation
Adviser:
Dr. Carly Sponarski
Email: kirstie.ruppert@maine.edu
Website:
https://umaine.edu/sponarskilab/people/kirstie-ruppert/
Location:
202 Nutting Hall


Seliger, Ben

Program: Ph.D.
Adviser: Dr. Jacquelyn Gill
Email: benjamin.seliger@maine.edu
Location: 208 Sawyer Environmental Research Center


Shea, Stephanie

Program: Ph.D.
Research Topic:
Wild Turkey Disease Ecology and Evolution
Adviser:
Pauline Kamath
Website:
https://umaine.edu/foodandagriculture/kamath2/
Location:
216 Hitchner Hall


Shepard, Isaac

Program: Ph.D., Ecology and Environmental Sciences
Adviser: Dr. Hamish Greig
Email: isaac.shepard@maine.edu
Location: 209D Deering Hall


Sutton, Anthony

Program: Ph.D.
Research Topic: Maine Wabanaki Food Security and Sovereignty
Adviser: Dr. John Daigle
Email: anthony.sutton@maine.edu


Tanaka, Kisei

Program: Ph.D.
Research Topic: Biogeography/Population Dynamics of American Lobster
Adviser: Dr. Yong Chen
Email: kisei.tanaka@maine.edu
Website: https://umaine.edu/ecologyandenvironmentalsciences/graduate-programs/meet-graduate-students/kisei-tanaka/
Location: 225 Libby Hall


Warner, Kate

Program: Ph.D.
Research Topic: Drinking Water and extreme precipitation
Adviser: Dr. Jasmine Saros
Email: kathryn.warner@maine.edu
Website: https://umaine.edu/ecologyandenvironmentalsciences/graduate-programs/meet-graduate-students/kate-warner/
Location: 110 Sawyer Environmental Research Center


Williams, Mario

Program: M.S.
Research Topic: Late Quaternary Tropical Paleoenvironmental Changes
Adviser: Dr. Jacquelyn Gill
Email: mario.williams@maine.edu
Website: https://umaine.edu/ecologyandenvironmentalsciences/mario-williams/
Location: 128 Sawyer Hall


Wood, Zach

Program: Ph.D.
Research Topic: I’m studying how rapid evolution in pond ecosystems can exaggerate or dampen trophic cascades.
Adviser: Dr. Michael Kinnison
Email: zachary.t.wood@maine.edu
Website: http://ztwood.weebly.com/
Location: 307 Murray Hall


Xu, Luoliang

Program: Ph.D.
Research Topic: Fishery stock assessment and management
Adviser: Dr. Yong Chen
Email: luoliang.xu@maine.edu
Website: https://www.researchgate.net/profile/Xu_Luoliang2/stats
Location: 223 Libby Hall