Nutrition Facts Database
UMaine Dining is committed to providing menu options that allow you to choose satisfying, delicious and well-balanced meals. We believe in providing tools and information that can help you make informed decisions about your menu choices, too. As part of this effort, we are working on a database of Nutrition Facts for many of the menu items available in our dining facilities.
Healthy UMaine Dining Initiatives
- Specially designed menus to include 20% more DineSmart items (our healthy alternatives) and to feature a local seasonal vegetable of the day.
Expanded information and education on most common allergens in foods and offer a Gluten Free Zone for more options for those with this need.
- Expanded our Dietary counseling for all students
Special Dietary Needs
Every reasonable attempt will be made to assist you in having your needs met in our UMaine Dining facilities; however, because of the large number of customers served, it is not always possible to provide a therapeutic diet that may be needed for medical nutrition therapy. Meal plan modifications or exemptions are granted in extreme cases.
For more information please go to umaine.edu/studentaccessibility/
Menu cards help make it easy to find important details about your food choices.
For more information about menu tags, including an explanation of our allergen labeling standards, please click here to visit the special dietary needs section of this website.
Looking for an easy way to make healthier dining choices on campus? Look for the DineSmart logo on menu cards! Items with that label are DineSmart approved—and a smart choice!
Entrée Nutrition Criteria
- No trans-fat
Approved Cooking Methods
- Grilled, broiled, baked, steamed
- No fried foods
Approach to Ingredients
- Meats/Proteins – all lean meats & protein
- Dairy Products – no heavy cream or butter
- Fats & Oils – no trans fat; no hydrogenated oils
- Starch – emphasis on whole grains
Allergies & intolerance
If you have a food allergy or intolerance, the staff of UMaine Dining will be pleased to assist you in determining whether a particular menu item contains an ingredient that may cause a reaction. It is highly recommended that you contact our office if you have a severe food allergy or intolerance.
Gluten: Foods prepared in our facilities with ingredients that do not contain gluten will be labeled with a gluten-friendly (gf) icon. We have food handling and safety techniques in place which reduce the risk of cross contact. However, without dedicated gluten-free kitchens, we cannot guarantee these items will be completely gluten free.
Dairy: Foods in our facilities that do not contain milk or dairy by-products will be labeled with a dairy-free (df) icon. When labeling we follow the Food Allergy & Anaphylaxis Network (FAAN) guidelines for foods to avoid when following a milk-free diet. FAAN guidelines can be found here.
Nuts: Foods in our facilities that contain peanuts, tree nuts or their by-products will be labeled with a nut (n) icon. When labeling, we follow the FAAN guidelines to avoid when following a peanut- and tree nut-free diet. FAAN guidelines can be found here. Peanut- and nut-allergic customers are advised to avoid eating any baked goods due to potential for cross contact in the bakery.
Fish: Foods in our facilities that contain fish, shellfish or their by-products will be labeled with a fish (f) icon. We label for all fin-fish as well as the shellfish and mollusks listed on the FAAN guidelines for a shellfish-free diet. FAAN guidelines can be found here. Fish and shellfish-allergic customers are advised to avoid eating any deep-fried foods due to potential for cross contact in the fryers. This is regardless of whether an item is a seafood selection.
Ingredients and nutritional content may vary. Manufacturers may change their product formulation without our knowledge, and product availability may fluctuate. While we make every effort to identify ingredients, it is ultimately the responsibility of the customer to judge whether or not to question ingredients or choose to eat selected foods. For questions regarding ingredients, please consult a dining services manager at any time.
Allergy Aware at Hilltop Dining
This year Hilltop Dining will feature the Allergy Aware venue offering menu items without the Big 8 allergens (peanuts, tree nuts, fish, shellfish, soy, eggs, milk and wheat) at dinner. Even if you don’t have an allergy, you will find these items as delicious as the other options. Allergy Aware menu will also not contain gluten ingredients.
Important Note: Ingredients and nutritional content may vary. Manufacturers may change their products formation or consistency of ingredients without our knowledge, and product availability may fluctuate.
While we make every effort to identify ingredients, we cannot assure against these contingencies., It is, therefore, ultimately the responsibility of the customer to judge whether or not to question ingredients or choose to eat selected foods.
For questions regarding ingredients, please consult a dining manager.
UMaine Dining follows strict food safety and sanitation guidelines as dictated by the U.S. FDA and State of Maine Food Codes. Food is purchased only from approved vendors and from the time it is received to the time it ends up on your plate, it is handled with the utmost caution to prevent growth of harmful pathogens.
Our staff undergoes continuous food safety training. Most of our associates are ServSafe Certified, meaning they have taken an 8-hour National Restaurant Association food safety and sanitation course and have passed a nationally-administered exam.
Do Your Part Too!
Unwashed hands spread infection, especially in the winter months. You can help each other stay healthy by washing your hands before you dine in our facilities. If for some reason you cannot, use the hand sanitizer located near the entrance of York and Hilltop dining facilities and the Bear’s Den. Sanitizers do not replace hand washing, but they are the next best alternative.