Skip Navigation

Maryann Hartman Awards - 2005 Award Winners

Judith Magyar Isaacson
A Holocaust survivor and author of the critically acclaimed Seed of Sarah:Memoirs of a Survivor, Judith has shared her experiences with audiences throughout Maine in support of the cause of education and human rights. Her courage in her tireless journey to understand, write about, and share her Holocaust experiences and her willingness to tell her complete story from a woman’s perspective have inspired people of all ages throughout Maine. A former dean at Bates College, she is currently active in the Auburn Public Library and is a trustee emerita of Bowdoin College.

Jean Lavigne
Twenty years ago, Jean was diagnosed with AIDS. Rather than turning away and remaining silent, she reached outward. She has researched every aspect of the issue and has testified tirelessly regarding treatment options, drug accessibility, and research funding. She has also trained HIV/AIDS service providers statewide. In addition, she has opened her home to AIDS patients and their families and delivered countless eulogies for old friends and new. She continues to advise and assist numerous committees including the Eastern Maine AIDS Network, the Maine HIV Advisory Committee, the AIDS Treatment Activists Coalition and WOMBATS (Women of Maine Battling AIDS Together Successfully).

Dorothy Schwartz
As Executive Director of the Maine Humanities Council, Dorothy has worked creatively to bring the humanities to Maine communities. With such programs as the Center for the Book, Born to Read, and Let’s Talk About Itshe has reached beginning readers, hospital personnel, probation officers and youth in the criminal justice system, among others. Under her guidance, the Maine Humanities Council has received nationwide recognition from the National Endowment for the Humanities, the Pew Memorial Trust, and the American Association of State and Local History. Dorothy is also a print maker and graphic artist.

Winner of the Young Women’s Social Justice Award

Brooke Hayne
Brooke Hayne from Biddeford High School saw a need to encourage tolerance towards gay, lesbian, transgendered and questioning youth. she has organized a successful “National Day of Silence” and is actively working to develop a Gay/Straight Alliance at her school. She is also an executive member of the school’s Civil Rights Team.

Back to Maryann Hartman Awards