Skip Navigation

Alumni - Distinguished Wildlife Alumna/Alumnus Award


2014 – Scott M. Melvin (1975), B.S. Watch the presentation here!

2013 – Mark McCollough (1981), M.S.; (1986), Ph.D.
2012 – Herbert Frost (1994), Ph.D.
2011 – Jonathan Jenkens (1986), M.S.
2010 – Guy A. Baldassarre (1975), B.S.
2009 – Daniel J. Harrison (1983), M.S.; (1986), Ph.D.
2008 – Alan E. Hutchinson (1969), B.S.; (1980), M.S.
2007 – Pralad Yonzon (1989), Ph.D.
2006 – William B. Krohn (1969), M.S.
2005 – Paul R. Nickerson (1966), B.S.
2004 – John T. Major (1979), M.S., (1983) Ph.D.
2003 – David E. Capen (1972), M.S.
2002 – Harry E. Hodgdon (1968), B.S.
2001 – Lee E. Perry (1967), B.S.
2000 – Malcolm L. Hunter (1974), B.S.
1999 – Gary C. White (1972), M.S.
1998 – Gary G. Donovan (1968), B.S.
1997 – G. Bruce Wiersma (1964), B.S.
1996 – Matthew Scott (1962), B.S.
1995 – None
1994 – Frederick C. Dean (1950), M.S.
1993 – Richard B. Anderson (1957), B.S.
1992 – Susan D. Haseltine (1971), B.S.
1991 – Eric G. Bolen (1959), B.S.
1990 – Richard N. Smith (1959), B.S.
1989 – Arthur Davis (1947), B.S.
1988 – Edward L. Kozicky (1941), B.S.
1987 – James D. Rearden (1950), M.S.
1986 – Milton Friend (1958), B.S.
1985 – William L. Robinson (1959), M.S.
1984 – Malcolm W. Coulter (1948), M.S.
1983 – Clarence E. Faulkner (1949), B.S.
1982 – James M. Shepard (1949), B.S.
1981 – Russell T. Norris (1938), B.S.
1980 – Robert B. Weeden (1955), M.S.
1979 – F. Victor Schmidt (1942), B.S.
1978 – Merwin A Marston (1939), M.S.a
a – deceased

The University of Maine Forestry and Wildlife Alumni Association traditionally honored two outstanding graduates of the University of Maine annually, one each in forestry and wildlife. This tradition began in 1978 with the celebration of the 75th year of the study of forest resources at the University of Maine.

In the Wildlife Program, a committee of Wildlife Alumni, faculty emeriti, past recipients, and the faculty of the Department of Wildlife Ecology selects the outstanding alumnus. This award is based “outstanding professional achievement and sustained contributions to the wildlife profession.” It is generally awarded to a professional past the mid-point of their career, but still active in wildlife conservation.

The award consists of a plaque and a University of Maine stein presented by the Chair to the recipient. Upon acceptance, the recipient is encouraged to make a few comments to students and friends of the wildlife program and to give a presentation at the Department’s noontime seminar series.

(1) Outstanding professional achievement, and (2) Sustained contributions to the wildlife profession (includes aquatic science, fisheries, and biology).

The Department of Wildlife Ecology will maintain a list of potential candidates that will be updated periodically based on input from alumni, past recipients, wildlife faculty (active and emeriti), the nominating committee, and from solicitations of alumni names via the Department’s newsletter. The list shall be reviewed by the Nominating Committee annually and 10 names of top-tier candidates will be passed along to the Department Chair, who will maintain files containing a vitae and relevant supporting information for each candidate.

The Department Chair will designate a Nominating Committee of at least 5 individuals, including at least one current faculty member in the Department, at least 2 past recipients, faculty emeriti, and alumni. The Nominating Committee will form a short list from the 10 files and will narrow the field to 2-4 candidates, for whom the nominating committee will solicit supporting letters. The Nominating Committee will select the recipient, and when notifying the Chair of their decision will provide the Department with the names, files, and supporting letters for the finalists.

Selections should be made no later than January of each year so that recipients have adequate time to schedule for the spring awards ceremony in April. The Nominating Committee is encouraged to prepare and submit an article about this award as a university press release. The Committee will also prepare a short biography and summary of professional accomplishments for the recipient to be read by the Department Chair at the annual awards ceremony.

Back to Alumni