Skip Navigation

Adding/Editing Posts - Publishing Options

The Publish area in the upper right of the post editing screen has a variety of useful tools:

Publishing Options

Save Draft

If your post is brand new, you’ll see the Save Draft button. This saves your post in the administration area and allows you to come back to it at a later date. It will appear in your full list of posts denoted as a Draft, but it will not make the post public on your website.

Preview

The Preview button allows you to see what your post will look like before you publish. It will open a new tab or window (depending on your browser’s configuration) and display your content within the UMaine template. Simply close the new tab or window to exit the preview and return to the editing screen.

Date/Time

To back-date a post or schedule a post to be published at a certain date/time, go to the date/time area under Publish (denoted by the small gray calendar icon) and select Edit, then set the date and time of your choice:

Posts with dates set in the past will publish immediately but will reflect the past date/time. Posts with dates in the future are scheduled to publish automatically at that date/time.

Deleting a Post

To move a post to the trash, click the red “Move to Trash” link. You can recover posts moved to the trash by going to Edit Posts, then selecting “Trash” from the list of links in the upper right.


Back to Adding/Editing Posts