Skip Navigation

UMaine Veteran Friendly Faculty and Staff

Below is a list of faculty and staff who have identified as Veteran-friendly by volunteering their time and efforts to support veterans on the UMaine campus and/or attending the Student Veterans at UMaine Training Workshop. Identified veterans will be distinguished by an asterisk (*) by their names.

Veteran Friendly Staff & Faculty: 

Tony Llerena  - Student Life- VA Certifying Official

Andrea Gifford - Student Life

James Settele* – School of Policy and International Affairs

Paul Gagnon* – Career Center

Laurel Friberg – Admissions

Thomas Banister* – ROTC

Sean Harmon* – ROTC

Katherine O’Flaherty – Honors College

Alan Parks – Student Support Services

April Boulier – Counseling Center

Bud Walkup – Student Wellness Resource Center

Carol Toner – Maine Studies

Catherine Athay – Student Support Services

Dan Robbins – Counseling Center

Erin Straine – Education & Human Development

Farahad Dastoor – School of Biology & Ecology

Holly Costar – Counseling Center

Barbara Smith - Student Life – CNTSP & VETS Associate

Kate Axelsen Foster – Career Center

Kelly Shaw – Counseling Center

Mary Ann Portmann – Financial Aid

Michael Lyman – Counseling Center

Nancy Boyington – Hutchinson Center

Sharon Barker – Women’s Resource Center

Tim Waring – School of Economics

Todd Zaroya* – College Success Programs


Veterans Education and Transition Services
5748 Memorial Union Rm. 143
Orono, Maine 04469
Phone: (207) 581-1316 | Fax: (207) 581-9338
The University of Maine
Orono, Maine 04469