Skip Navigation

Faculty and Staff

winslow hall

Welcome to the Faculty and Staff page. Here you will find information on the individuals that educate, advise, research, and bring the expertise that makes the School of Economics a great place to learn and grow.

__________________________________________________

Research and Publications

Recent Journal Articles

__________________________________________________

Administrative Staff

Faculty

  • Director and Professor Mario Teisl
    Ph.D. Agricultural and Resource Economics, University of Maryland
    Research:Information Economics; Food safety; Environmental and Social Marketing; Environmental Economics
    Office: 200 Winslow Hall
    Phone: (207) 581-3162
    E-mail: teisl@maine.edu
  • Assistant Professor Xuan Chen
    Ph.D., Economics, North Carolina State University
    Research: Risk Management; Agricultural Finance; Production Economics; Spatial Econometrics
    Office: 207 Winslow Hall
    Phone: (207) 581-3184
    Fax: (207) 581-4278
    Email: xuan.chen@maine.edu
  • Professor George Criner 
    Ph.D. Agricultural Economics, Washington State University
    Research: Waste Management Economics; International Agricultural and Resource Trade and Related Issues
    Office: Winslow Hall 206
    Phone: (207) 581-3151
    Email: george.criner@umit.maine.edu
  • Professor Todd Gabe
    Ph.D. Agricultural Economics, Ohio State University
    Research: Regional and Community Economic Development; Public Finance
    Office: 200 Winslow Hall
    Phone: (207) 581-3307
    Email: todd.gabe@umit.maine.edu
  • Professor Alan Kezis
    Associate Dean, Natural Sciences Forestry & Agriculture, University of Maine
    Ph.D. Agricultural Economics, Washington State University
    Research: Food marketing
    Office: 106 Winslow Hall
    Phone: (207) 581-3203
    Email: alan.kezis@umit.maine.edu
  • Professor James McConnon
    Ph.D. Agricultural Economics, Iowa State University
    Research: Regional and Community Economic Development; Innovation; Small Business Management
    Office: 101A Libby Hall
    Phone: (207) 581-3165
    Email: mcconnon@maine.edu
  • Professor Jonathan Rubin
    Ph.D. Agricultural Economics, University of California, Davis
    Research: Environmental Regulation and Design; Economics of Alternative Transportation Fuels and Vehicles; Economics of Greenhouse Gas Reductions
    Office: 305 Winslow Hall
    Phone: (207) 581-3152
    E-mail: jonathan.rubin@umit.maine.edu
  • Professor Linda Silka
    PhD Social Psychology, University of Kansas
    Research: Community-University Partnerships, Research Ethics in Community Research; Program Evaluation, Translating Knowledge into Action, Community Environmental Issues
    Office: 217 York Village Building #4
    Phone: 207-581-1553
    Email: Silka@maine.edu
  • Professor Greg White
    Ph.D. Agricultural and Resource Economics, Washington State University
    Research: Marketing; Finance; Business Administration
    Office: 307 Winslow Hall
    Phone: (207) 581-3159
    E-mail: gwhite@maine.edu

Emeritus Faculty

Cooperating and Adjunct Faculty

  • Jack Lavery Senior Executive Fellow in Financial Economics

Professional Staff

  • Senior Research Scientist Thomas G. Allen
    M.S. Resource Economics and Policy, University of Maine
    Office: Winslow 203
    Phone: (207) 581-3164
    Email: thomas.allen@umit.maine.edu