Skip Navigation

Faculty and Staff

Karen Moffett, Administrative Assistant
Office: Winslow Hall 206
Phone: 207.581.3154
Email: karen.moffett@maine.edu


Shelley Rollins, Administrative Assistant
Office: Winslow Hall 206
Phone: 207.581.3150
Email: shelley.rollins@umit.maine.edu


Director and Professor Mario Teisl
Ph.D. Agricultural and Resource Economics, University of Maryland
Research:Information Economics; Food safety; Environmental and Social Marketing; Environmental Economics
Office: 200 Winslow Hall
Phone: 207.581.3162
E-mail: teisl@maine.edu


Professor Kathleen P. Bell
Ph.D. Economics, University of Maryland
Research: Environmental Economics; Public Economics; Land Economics; Sustainability Science
Office: 302 Winslow Hall
Phone: 207.581.3156
Email: kpbell@maine.edu


Lecturer and Undergraduate Coordinator Travis Blackmer
M.A. Financial Economics, University of Maine
Research: Materials and Solid Waste Management; Sustainability Science
Phone: 207.581.3155
Office: 200 Winslow Hall
Email: travis.blackmer@maine.edu


Associate Professor James Breece
Ph.D. Economics, Boston College
Research: Macroeconomics; International Economics; Forecasting
Office: 200A Winslow Hall
Phone: 207.581.3184
Email: breece@maine.edu


Assistant Professor Andrew Crawley
Ph.D., Economics, University of Glamorgan
Research: Regional Economic Development, Economic Impact, Economic Modelling
Office: 207 Winslow Hall
Phone: 207.581.3164
Email: andrew.crawley@maine.edu


Assistant Professor Angela Daley
Ph.D., Economics, Dalhousie University
Research: Health and Labor Economics, Poverty and Inequality, Social Policy, Children and Families, Rural and Remote Communities including Aboriginal Peoples
Office: 307 Winslow Hall
Phone: 207.581.3159
Email: angela.daley@maine.edu


Assistant Professor Keith S. Evans
Ph.D., Economics, Iowa State University
Research: Rights-Based Fisheries Management; Cooperation in the Commons; Marine Aquaculture; Nonmarket Valuation; Applied Econometrics.
Office: 302 Winslow Hall and 210A Libby Hall
Phone: 207.581.3178 and 207.581.4324
E-mail: keith.evans@maine.edu


Professor Todd Gabe
Ph.D. Agricultural Economics, Ohio State University
Research: Regional and Community Economic Development; Public Finance
Office: 200 Winslow Hall
Phone: 207.581.3307
Email: todd.gabe@umit.maine.edu


Professor Gary Hunt
Ph.D. Economics, University of Colorado at Boulder
Research: Migration, Energy, Regional Economic Growth/Development
Office: Suite 200 Winslow Hall
Phone: 207.581.1861
Email: Gary.Hunt@umit.maine.edu


Assistant Professor Sharon J.W. Klein
Ph.D. Engineering & Public Policy, Carnegie Mellon University
Research: Interdisciplinary Energy Analysis (Engineering-Economic Assessment, Environmental Life Cycle Assessment, Multi-Criteria Decision Analysis), Renewable Energy Economics and Policy, Solar Energy, Community Solar, Biofuels
Office: 305 Winslow Hall
Phone: 207.581.3174
Email: sharon.klein@maine.edu


Professor James McConnon
Ph.D. Agricultural Economics, Iowa State University
Research: Regional and Community Economic Development; Innovation; Small Business Management
Office: 115 Libby Hall
Phone: 207.581.3165
Email: mcconnon@maine.edu


Associate Professor Michael Montgomery
Ph.D. Economics, University of Florida
Research: Macroeconomics; Monetary Theory; Austrian Economics
Office: 230 Stevens Hall
Phone: 207.581.1852
Email: michael.montgomery@umit.maine.edu


Assistant Professor Caroline Noblet
Ph.D. Economic Psychology, University of Maine
Research: Environmental Behavior and  Motivation; Economic Psychology; Information Processing
Office: 207 Winslow Hall
Phone: 207.581.3172
Email: caroline.noblet@umit.maine.edu


Professor Jonathan Rubin
Ph.D. Agricultural Economics, University of California, Davis
Research: Environmental Regulation and Design; Economics of Alternative Transportation Fuels and Vehicles; Economics of Greenhouse Gas Reductions
Office: 305 Winslow Hall
Phone: 207.581.1528
E-mail: rubinj@maine.edu


Professor Linda Silka
PhD Social Psychology, University of Kansas
Research: Community-University Partnerships, Research Ethics in Community Research; Program Evaluation, Translating Knowledge into Action, Community Environmental Issues
Office: 217 York Village Building #4
Phone: 207.581.1553
Email: Silka@maine.edu


Visiting Professor Jeffrey Thaler
J.D. Yale Law School, Yale University
Research: Energy Policy, Law & Ethics; Assistant UMaine Counsel on environmental, energy, and sustainability projects/initiatives
Phone: 207.228.8539
E-mail: jeffrey.thaler@maine.edu


Instructor and Lecturer Sharon Tisher
J.D. Harvard Law School
Research: Environmental Law
Office: 307 Winslow Hall
Phone: 207.581.3158
E-mail: sharon.tisher@umit.maine.edu


Professor Philip Trostel
Ph.D. Economics, Texas A & M University
Research: Human Capital and Savings; Public Economics; Labor Economics
Office: 315A Stevens Hall
Phone: 207.581.1822 or 207.581-1651
Email: philip.trostel@maine.edu


Assistant Professor and Graduate Coordinator Tim Waring
Ph.D. Human Ecology, University of California, Davis
Research: Sustainability, Cultural Evolution, Human Culture and Cooperation
Office: 200 Winslow Hall
Phone: 207.581.3157
E-mail: timothy.waring@maine.edu
Web: http://timwaring.wordpress.com/


 

Affiliated Graduate Faculty, Ewa J. Kleczyk
Ph.D. Economics,Virginia Tech, 2008
Research: Health Economics, Pharmacuetical Product Life Cycle Management Analytics, and Healthcare Policy Impact Evaluation
Phone: 215.444.8806
E-mail: ewa.kleczyk@symphonyhealth.com


Cooperating faculty

Assistant Professor of Anthropology Christine Beitl
Ph.D. Ecological and Environmental Anthropology, University of Georgia, 2012
Research: Intersections of Socio-Political, Ecological, and Economic Systems, Forest Landscape Management & Economics
Office: S. Stevens Hall, Rm. 228A
Telephone: 207.581.1893
Fax: 207.581.1823
Email: christine.beitl@maine.edu

Assistant Professor Mindy Crandall
Ph.D.Applied Economics, Minor in Forest Resources, Oregon State University
Research: Forest Management, Forest Products Markets, Alternative Economic Development
Office: 243 Nutting Hall
Phone: 207.581.2855
Email: mindy.crandall@maine.edu

Assistant Professor of Nature-based Tourism Sandra De Urioste-Stone
Ph.D. University of Idaho
Research: Sustainable tourism planning and evaluation, Climate change and sustainable rural livelihoods, Community resilience and vitality, Collaborative natural resource management
Office: 237 Nutting Hall
Phone: 207.581.2885
Email: sandra.de@maine.edu

Assistant Professor in Economic Anthropology Cynthia Isenhour
Ph.D. Anthropology, University of Kentucky
Research: Economic and Environmental Anthropology; Consumption; Embodied Energy and Emissions; Climate Change Adaptation; Environmental Load Displacement; Environmental Justice, Sustainability, Environmental Governance; Global Cities
Office: 230 Stevens Hall
Phone: 207.581.1895
Eamil: cynthia.isenhour@maine.edu

Associate Professor of Human Dimensions of Natural Resources Jessica Leahy
Ph.D. University of Minnesota
Research: Outcomes-Focused Management of Family Forests; Public Attitudes Toward Forests and Forestry; Individual and Community Benefits of Citizen Science
Office: 241 Nutting Hall
Phone: 207.581.2875
Email: jessica.leahy@maine.edu

Assistant Professor of Political Economy Kristin Vekasi
PhD, MA University of Wisconsin, Madison
Research: International political economy, China & Japan, foreign direct investment
Office: 111 North Stevens
Phone: 207.581.1876
E-mail: kristin.vekasi@maine.edu


Emeriti faculty

David Clark, Professor
Wally Dunham, Professor
Thomas Duchesneau, Professor
Mark Lutz, Professor
David Wihry, Associate Professor
Stewart Smith, Professor
Mark Anderson, Senior Instructor
Hsiang-Tai Cheng, Professor
Stephen Reiling, Professor


Jack Lavery 
Senior Executive Fellow in Financial Economics