Skip Navigation

Faculty

Director

Faculty

 

Classified Staff

Emeritus Faculty

Elizabeth Bicknell, MS, RN, CNA-BC
Associate Professor of Nursing

Ann Sossong, Ph.D, MEd, MSN,RN
Professor of Nursing

Jean M. Symonds, MSN, EdD, Rn
Associate Professor of Nursing


Catherine Berardelli.,Ph.D.,RNCatherine Berardelli, PhD, RN
Assistant Director
catherine.berardelli@umit.maine.edu
207.581.2588

Teaching Area:

  • Concepts in Nursing
  • Senior Seminar
  • Leadership & Management

Areas of Interest:

  • Primary Care
  • Women’s Health
  • Leadership & Management

(Back to Top)


Mary Brakey, Ph.D, RNMary Regan Brakey, PhD, RN
Associate Professor of Nursing
brakey@maine.edu
207.581.2595

Teaching Area:

  • Medical-Surgical Nursing

Areas of Interest:

  • Medical-Surgical Nursing
  • Oncology
  • Neurology
  • Nursing Research

(Back to Top)


Lisa CarusoLisa Caruso, DNP, MS, RN, NEA-BC, FACHE
Lecturer of Nursing
lisa.swanson@maine.edu
207.581.2589

Teaching Area:

  • Leadership and Management
  • Health Policy, Politics and Practice

Areas of Interest:

  • Healthcare Leadership and Management
  • Managing Change, Coaching, Mentoring, Team Building, and Conflict Resolution
  • Healthcare Consulting
  • Advancing Professional Nursing Practice

(Back to Top)


Nilda Cravens, RN.,MSNNilda Cravens, RN, MSN
Lecturer of Nursing
nilda.cravens@umit.maine.edu
207.581.2593

Teaching Area:

  • Community Health
  • Social Influence in Health and Healthcare

Areas of Interest:

  • Public Health
  • Transcultural Nursing
  • Health Promotion
  • Epidemology
  • Home Health

(Back to Top)


Debbie Eremita, RN,MSNDeborah Eremita, RN, MSN
Undergraduate Program Coordinator
Lecturer of Nursing
deborah.eremita@umit.maine.edu
207.581.2603

Teaching Area:

  • Medical-Surgical Nursing Clinical

Areas of Interest:

  • Oncology
  • Simulation

(Back to Top)


Nancy Fishwick, Ph.D.,RN.,FNPNancy Fishwick, PhD, RN, FNP
Director
Associate Professor of Nursing
fishwick@maine.edu
207.581.2607

Teaching Area:

  • Primary Care of Adults
  • APRN Professional Issues

Areas of Interest:

  • Family Nurse Practitioner
  • Rural Primary Health Care
  • Family Violence
  • Violence Against Women

(Back to Top)


Valerie HerbertValerie Herbert, DNP, RN
Assistant Professor of Nursing
valerie.herbert@maine.edu
207.581-2598

Teaching Area:

  • Simulations

Area of Interest:

  • Healthcare informatics
  • Healthcare simulations

(Back to Top)


Charlene Ingwell-Spolan, Ph.D, RNCharlene Ingwell-Spolan, PhD, RN
Assistant Professor of Nursing
Clinical Simulation Educator
charlene.ingwellspolan@maine.edu
207.581.2605

Teaching Area:

  • ¬†Adult Health, Simulation, and Leadership

Areas of Interest:

  • Leadership, Innovative Teaching, Health Policy, and Quality of Nursing

(Back to Top)


Dale Lowe, MSN.,APRN.,BC.,FNPDale Lowe, MSN, APRN, BC, FNP
Lecturer in Nursing
dale.lowe@umit.maine.edu
207.581.2672

Teaching Area:

  • Medical-Surgical
  • Mental Health
  • Nursing Health Assessment
  • Fundamentals of Nursing

Areas of Interest:

  • Health Promotion
  • Pediatrics
  • Gerontological Nursing
  • Men’s Health

(Back to Top)


Patricia Poirier, Ph.D, RNPatricia Poirier, PhD, RN, AOCN
Assistant Professor of Nursing
patricia.poirier@umit.maine.edu
207.581.3009

Teaching Area:

  • Med/Surg. Fundamentals
  • Senior Seminar

Areas of Interest:

  • Oncology
  • Fatigue & Policy

(Back to Top)


Deborah Saber, PH.D, RNDeborah Saber, PhD, RN, CCRN-K
Assistant Professor of Nursing
deborah.saber@maine.edu
207.581.2533

Teaching Area:

  • Pathophysiology
  • Evidence-Based Practice and Research

Area of Interest:

  • Waste Management of Infectious Patients
  • Nursing Work Environment/Job Satisfaction

(Back to Top)


Mary Shea, Ph.D, FNP, PNPMary Shea, Ph.D, FNP, PNP
Graduate Program Coordinator
Assistant Professor of Nursing
mary.shea@umit.maine.edu
207.581.2611

Teaching Area:

  • Undergraduate Pediatric
  • Professional Issues Advanced Practice Nursing

Areas of Interest:

  • Health Disparities
  • Pediatric Health Promotion
  • Lead Poisoning

(Back to Top)


Kelley StroutKelley Strout, PhD. , RN
Assistant Professor of Nursing
kelley.strout@maine.edu
207.581.2601

Teaching Area:

  • Community and Population Health
  • Introduction to Aging

Area of Interest:

  • Wellness and Health Promotion Aging Research
  • Wellness Coaching

(Back to Top)


 

Mary_Tedesco.SchneckMary Tedesco-Schneck, PhD, RN
Assistant Professor of Nursing
mary.tedescoschneck@maine.edu
207.581.3427

Teaching Area:

  • Undergraduate Pediatrics

Are of Interest:

  • Adverse Childhood Experiences
  • Pediataric Dermatology
  • Feminist Pedagogy

(Back to Top)


Katherine Trepanier, RN, MSNKatherine Trepanier, RN, MSN, CCNS

Lecturer in Nursing
katherine.trepanier@umit.maine.edu
207.581.2599

Teaching area:

  • Medical Surgical

Areas of Interest:

 

(Back to Top)


Susan Wheaton, MSN.,RNSusan Wheaton, MSN, RN
Learning Resource Director
Lecturer in Nursing
Susan.a.wheaton@umit.maine.edu
207.581.2594

Teaching Area:

  • Undergraduate Nursing Pharmacology
  • Medical-Surgical Nursing/Clinical
  • Cardiovascular Nursing/Clinical
  • Nursing Learning Resource Center Director

Areas of Interest:

  • Nursing Pharmacology
  • Nursing On-Line Education
  • Cardiovascular Nursing
  • Story Telling – Maintaining the Art of Nursing Story Telling with online Education

(Back to Top)


Esther Jipson
Administrative Specialist – CL1
esther.jipson@maine.edu
(207) 581-2592

(Back to Top)


Cynthia Therrien
Administrative Support Specialist – CL2
cindyt@maine.edu
(207) 581-2505

(Back to Top)


Pauline Wood
Administravie Support Specialist -CL2
pwood@maine.edu
(207) 581-2584

(Back to Top)