Skip Navigation
Return to Layout View | Home | A-Z Directory | my UMaine | MaineStreet | Campus Map | Calendar
Follow UMaine on Twitter | Join UMaine on Facebook | Watch UMaine on YouTube | Admissions | Parents & Family | Apply | Give Now | Emergency

UMaine News

Site Navigation:

2013 Maryann Hartman Award Recipients Announced

The University of Maine’s Women’s, Gender, and Sexualities Studies Program has announced the recipients of the 2013 Maryann Hartman Award, an annual recognition of women whose work inspires others and raises awareness of contemporary women’s accomplishments.

The 28th annual Maryann Hartman Award ceremony will take place from 5 to 7:30 p.m. Tuesday, Oct. 22 at the University of Maine Buchanan Alumni House. The event is free and open to the public.

To register by Oct. 18, request further information or to inquire about disability accommodations, email Mazie Hough at or call the office of the Women’s, Gender, and Sexualities Studies Program at 207.581.1228 between 8 a.m. and noon.

This year’s Hartman Award recipients are Christine Hastedt of Freeport for the many years and ways she has worked to improve the lives of low-income Mainers; Elizabeth McCue-Herlihy of Old Town for her work helping low-income students overcome barriers to find success in higher education; and Terry Moore of Stetson, an Air Force retiree, for her commitment to “after-the-uniform” advocacy, especially the problem of sexual harassment.

Erin Williams of Fort Fairfield will receive the Young Women’s Social Justice Award for leadership in her high school to solve civil rights issues, including exclusion, partner violence and bullying.

The awards are named for the late Maryann Hartman, an associate professor of speech communication at UMaine, feminist, scholar and humanist.


Media Resources

Popular Posts

Recent Posts

Contact Information

UMaine News
The University of Maine
Orono, Maine 04469
A Member of the University of Maine System