Skip Navigation

Welcome to M Club

The University of Maine M Club

Dedicated to Maine Athletes… Past, Present & Future

HEADLINES: New class inducted into Hall of Fame / Order your own “M” plaque / Smith Award recipients honored /Haskell strikes again / The Maine Book on-line

New class inducted into Hall of Fame

Eight individuals and the 1993 men’s national champion hockey team were inducted into the University of Maine Sports Hall of Fame on September 8th in a banquet hosted by the M Club at the Black Bear Inn in Orono.

Honorees included football phenom Mike Devito ’07, record-setting swimmer Charles “Chuck” Martin ’82, cross country and track & field standout Dan Rearick ’58, legendary assistant hockey coach and recruiter Grant Standbrook, outstanding baseball player Dave “Zippy” Thompson ’65, sports announcer Gary Thorne ’70, track & field star Vicki Tolton ’09 and softball sensation Ashley Waters ’09. For the first time, an entire team that has made an impact on the University was honored.

Order your own “M” plaque

The M Club has been awarding wall plaques with a chenille “M” under a plexiglas shield to all graduating University of Maine varsity letter winners since 2013.

The athletic department now awards certificates, but not actual chenille letters or the M sweaters and M jackets that you may remember.

For former Black Bears, the sweater or jacket may no longer fit, but a wall plaque is forever.  You can order the same plaque with a plate engraved with your name, sport and year of your first varsity letter.  By doing so, alumni letter winners can not only obtain this handsome keepsake for their offices or dens, but will also be helping to finance the program for upcoming letter winners.

To do so, print out and fill out the order form, enclose your check to the University of Maine Foundation and mail as directed.  The plaque will be mailed directly to you.

Dean Smith Award recipients honored

Sigi Koizar of the women’s basketball team, Sydney Veljacic of the field hockey team and Jesse Orach, a member of the men’s cross country and track and field teams, have been named the 2017 recipients of the M Club’s annual Dean Smith Awards for the University of Maine’s most outstanding student-athletes.

For Koizar and Orach, it is the second straight year they have been honored for their outstanding academic and athletic achievement along with citizenship and community service. The awards are presented at the athletic department’s annual gathering honoring all athletes who have achieved academically.

Haskell strikes again

Former University of Maine athletic director Stu Haskell has done it again. Building on his epic effort, “The Maine Book: University of Maine Athletics 1881-2007,” Haskell has compiled comprehensive all-in-one lists of both men and women’s “M” winners over the years, and centuries, 19th into the 21st.

It totals up to approximately 13,000 names, according to Haskell, although he did not count them line for line. Nevertheless, when added to all the information in “The Maine Book,” these new lists, A to Z, combining all sports, Black Bear enthusiasts now have as complete a history of UMaine sports as is possible.

The M Club appreciates Stu’s efforts, and his allowing us to bring this priceless information to you.

The Maine Book on-line

“The Maine Book: University of Maine Athletics 1881-2007,” a massive undertaking and labor of love for former UMaine athletic director Stu Haskell ’56, is posted on-line on the M Club website.

Every team, every athlete, everyone who ever performed for the Black Bears through 2007 is here. The records, the statistics, team photos. If it’s not in the book, it didn’t happen.

The M Club owes Stu many thanks for making the complete record book, almost 800 pages, available to everyone.

(The M Club board meets every third Wednesday, September through May.)