Skip Navigation
Return to Layout View | Home | A-Z Directory | my UMaine | MaineStreet | Campus Map | Calendar
Follow UMaine on Twitter | Join UMaine on Facebook | Watch UMaine on YouTube | Admissions | Parents & Family | Apply | Give Now | Emergency

Maine Agricultural Center


Site Navigation:


Expertise Directory

Printer-friendly version: PDF

Alyokhin, Andrei

Potato integrated pest management

Contact Information:
School of Biology & Ecology, 5722 Deering Hall Rm 315E, Orono, ME 04469-5722;   207-581-2977;   andrei.alyokhin@umit.maine.edu

Anderson, Gary

Improving decision-making abilities of Maine livestock producers; dairy management; financial and nutrition management

Contact Information:
UM Cooperative Extension, 5735 Hitchner Hall Rm 145A, Orono, ME 04469-5735;   207-581-3240;   garya@maine.edu

Annis, Seanna

Fungal pathogens of plants (blueberry) and animals, general mycology (mushrooms)

Contact Information:
School of Biology & Ecology, 5735 Hitchner Hall Rm 303, Orono, ME 04469-5735;   207-581-2621;   sannis@maine.edu

Armstrong, Charles

Integrated pest management for cranberries

Contact Information:
UM Cooperative Extension, 491 College Ave, Orono, ME 04473-1295;   207-581-2967;   charles.armstrong@maine.edu

Barry, Don

Development of pesticide application training (PAT) manuals

Contact Information:
UM Cooperative Extension, 491 College Ave, Orono, ME 04473-1295;   207-581-3884;   donald.barry@maine.edu

Bayer, Robert

Lobster

Contact Information:
School of Food & Agriculture, 5763 Rogers Hall Rm 210, Orono, ME 04469-5763;   207-581-2785;  rbayer@maine.edu

Bell, Kathleen

Environmental and natural resource economics and policy; land-use change and management; spatial (GIS) analysis of environmental and natural resource problems

Contact Information:
School of Economics, 5782 Winslow Hall Rm 200, Orono, ME 04469-5782;   207-581-3156;   kathleen.p.bell@umit.maine.edu

Bolton, Jason

Food safety

Contact Information:
UMCE, 5725 Nutting Hall, Rm 105, Orono, ME 04469; 207-581-1366;    jason.bolton@maine.edu

Borns, Harold

Glacial records, iceflow directions, glacial sediments, radiocarbon dating

Contact Information:
Earth Sciences/Climate Change Institute, 224 Bryand Global Science Center, Orono, ME 04469;   207-581-1203;   Borns@maine.edu

Brann, Jeffrey

Farm superintendent; wild blueberries

Contact Information:
Blueberry Hill Farm, PO Box 189, Jonesboro, ME 04648;   207-434-2291;    jeffrey.brann@maine.edu

Brzozowski, Richard

General agriculture education programs with emphasis in sheep, goat production; farmers’ market establishment; small-scale poultry enterprises; farm tractor safety

Contact Information:
UMCE – Cumberland County, 75 Clearwater Drive, Suite 104, Falmouth, ME 04105;    207-781-6099;   richard.brzozowski@maine.edu

Burnett, Stephanie

Floriculture, greenhouse crop production and plant/soil water relations

Contact Information:
School of Food & Agriculture, 5722 Deering Hall Rm 205, Orono, ME 04469-5722;   sburnett@maine.edu

Bushway, Rodney

Methods of detecting toxicants, nutrients and pesticides in food, water and soil

Contact Information:
School of Food & Agriculture, 5735 Hitchner Hall Rm 115, Orono, ME 04469-5735;   207-581-1626;   rbushway@maine.edu

Calder, Beth

Food safety and processing technology; value-added food products and product development; outreach for the Maine food industry

Contact Information:
School of Food & Agriculture/Cooperative Extension, 107 Nutting Hall, Orono, ME 04469;   207-581-2791;   beth.calder@umit.maine.edu

Camire, Mary Ellen

Food processing and sensory evaluation; dietary supplements and functional foods

Contact Information:
School of Food & Agriculture, 5735 Hitchner Hall Rm 105, Orono, ME 04469-5735;    207-581-1627;   mary.camire@umit.maine.edu

Causey, Robert

Equine reproduction and infertility; coordinator Equine Program

Contact Information:
School of Food & Agriculture, 5735 Hitchner Hall Rm 344, Orono, ME 04469-5735;   207-581-2782;    robert.causey@umit.maine.edu

Cheng, Hsiang-tai

Agricultural marketing; food demand analysis

Contact Information:
School of Economics, 5782 Winslow Hall Rm 201, Orono, ME 04469-5782;   207-581-3155;   cheng@maine.edu

Coffin, Donna

General agriculture; home horticulture; horses, beef

Contact Information:
UMCE- Penobscot & Piscataquis County, 165 E. Main Street, Dover-Foxcroft, ME 04426-1396;   207-564-3301;   donna.coffin@maine.edu

Criner, George

Waste management; agricultural economics

Contact Information:
School of Economics, 5782 Winslow Hall Rm 206, Orono, ME 04469-5782;   207-581-3151;    george.criner@umit.maine.edu

de los Reyes, Benildo

Molecular genetics; functional genomics of abiotic stress tolerance of plant genetic models

Contact Information:
School of Biology & Ecology, 5735 Hitchner Hall Rm 174, Orono, ME 04469-5735;   207-581-2564;   benildo.de@maine.edu

Dill, Griffin

Potato integrated pest management (IPM)

Contact Information:
UM Cooperative Extension, 491 College Avenue, Orono, ME 04473-1295; 207-581-3885; griffin.dill@maine.edu

Dill, James

Pest management; integrated pest management (IPM); pesticide applicator training

Contact Information:
UM Cooperative Extension, 491 College Avenue, Orono, ME 04473-1295;   207-581-3879;   james.dill@maine.edu

Drummond, Francis

Insect ecology; blueberry pollination; blueberry IPM; biological control of insect pests; computer simulation modeling; biostatistics

Contact Information:
School of Biology & Ecology, 5722 Deering Hall Rm 305, Orono, ME 04469-5722;   207-581-2989;   frank.drummond@umit.maine.edu

Dwyer, James

Potato IPM; potato production; alternative crop production

Contact Information:
UMCE – Aroostook County, PO Box 727, Presque Isle, ME 04769-0727;   207-764-3361;    jimdwyer@maine.edu

Dyer, Jake

Farm superintendent; livestock; crops research

Contact Information:
J.F. Witter Teaching and Research Center, Winslow Hall, Orono, ME 04468;   207-581-2793;   jake.dyer@maine.edu

Erich, M. Susan

Director of MAFES Analytical Lab and Soil Testing Service; soil chemistry and soil fertility

Contact Information:
School of Food & Agriculture, 5722 Deering Hall Rm 418, Orono, ME 04469-5722;   207-581-2997;    erich@maine.edu

Fernandez, Ivan

Forest soils, biogeochemistry, climate change adaptation

Contact Information:
School of Forest Resources, 5722 Deering Hall Rm 1, Orono, ME 04469-5722;   207-581-2932;    ivanjf@maine.edu

Fitzgerald, Caragh

Commercial crop production, cover crops, nutrient management, sustainable agriculture, soils, home horticulture

Contact Information:
UMCE – Kennebec County, 125 State St, 3rd floor, Augusta, ME 04330-5692;   207-622-7546;    cfitzgerald@maine.edu

Fuller, David

Non-timber forest products; home horticulture

Contact Information:
UMCE – Franklin County, 138 Pleasant Street, Ste #1, Farmington, ME 04938-1729;   207-778-4650 or 800-924-7496;    dfuller@maine.edu

Gabe, Todd

Community economic development; economic impact modeling

Contact Information:
School of Economics, 5782 Winslow Hall Rm 200, Orono, ME 04469-5782;   207-581-3307;   todd.gabe@umit.maine.edu

Gallandt, Eric

Sustainable agriculture—weed ecology and management, cropping systems

Contact Information:
School of Food & Agriculture, 5762 Roger Clapp Greenhouse Rm 205, Orono, ME 04469-5762;   207-581-2933;    gallandt@maine.edu

Garland, Katherine

Consumer horticulture education

Contact Information:
UMCE – Penobscot County, 307 Maine Ave, Bangor, ME 04401;   207-942-7396;   katherine.garland@maine.edu

Groden, Eleanor

Biological control of insect pests

Contact Information:
School of Biology & Ecology, 5722 Deering Hall Rm 306, Orono, ME 04469-5722;   207-581-2984;   eleanor.groden@umit.maine.edu

Handley, David

Vegetable and small fruit production; integrated pest management

Contact Information:
Highmoor Farm, PO Box 179, Monmouth, ME 04259-0179;   207-933-2100;   david.handley@maine.edu

Hopkins, Kathryn

Consumer horticulture; maple sugar production

Contact Information:
UMCE – Somerset County, 7 County Drive, Skowhegan, ME 04976-4209;   207-474-9622;   khopkins@maine.edu

Hoskins, Bruce

Coordinator of soil testing program at the Analytical Soil Testing Lab; soil fertility; plant nutrition

Contact Information:
School of Food & Agriculture, 5722 Deering Hall Rm 409 A, Orono, ME 04469-5722;   207-581-2945;   hoskins@maine.edu

Hutchinson, Mark

Home horticulture and commercial agriculture, composting and nutrient management

Contact Information:
UMCE – Knox & Lincoln Counties, 377 Manktown Road, Waldoboro, ME 04572;   207-832-0343;    mhutch@maine.edu

Hutton, Mark

Identification of vegetable varieties suitable for Maine; development of sustainable vegetable production practices

Contact Information:
Highmoor Farm, PO Box 179, Monmouth, ME 04259-0179;   207-933-2100;    mark.hutton@maine.edu

Jackson, Tori Lee

Farm business management, new and beginning farmer education, commercial agriculture and home horticulture

Contact Information:
UMCE -Androscoggin/Sagadahoc, 24 Main Street, Lisbon Falls, ME 04252;   207-353-5550;    tori.jackson@maine.edu

Jemison, John

Reducing herbicide use in crop production; improving fertilizer and manure use efficiency

Contact Information:
UM Cooperative Extension, 495 College Avenue, Orono, ME 04473-1294;   207-581-3241;    jemison@maine.edu

Johnson, Steven

Potato pathology

Contact Information:
UMCE – Aroostook County, PO Box 727 Houlton Road, Presque Isle, ME 04769-0727;   207-764-3361;   stevenj@maine.edu

Kersbergen, Richard

Dairy-nutrition; organic dairy; forage pasture and manure/nutrient management; soil health; home horticulture; integrated farming systems; farm safety; small farm contact

Contact Information:
UMCE – Waldo County, 992 Waterville Road, Waldo, ME 04915;   207-342-5971;   richard.kersbergen@maine.edu

Kimball, Alan

Forest manager, University Forests: conservation and multiple-use management of nonindustrial forests emphasizing teaching, research, and demonstration

Contact Information:
University Forests, 241 Nutting Hall Rm 215, Orono, ME 04469-5725;   207-581-2849;    akimball@maine.edu

Kirby, Clay

Insect diagnostics and management recommendations

Contact Information:
UM Cooperative Extension, Pest Management Office, 491 College Avenue, Orono, ME 04473; 207-581-2963; clay.kirby@maine.edu

Klimis-Zacas, Dorothy

Trace mineral nutrition, vascular functional properties, lipoprotein and arterial glycosaminoglycan structure and metabolism; flavonoids, anthocyanins and cardiovascular disease

Contact Information:
School of Food & Agriculture, 5735 Hitchner Hall Rm 107, Orono, ME 04469-5749;   207-581-3124; dorothy.klimis@umit.maine.edu

Koehler, Glen

Apple pest management; weather-based pest forecasting; pesticide use surveys

Contact Information:
UM Cooperative Extension, Pest Management Office 491 College Avenue, Orono, ME 04473-1295;   207-581-3882; glen.koehler@maine.edu

Koller, Gregory

Farm superintendent; fruit and vegetable research

Contact Information:
Highmoor Farm, PO Box 179, Monmouth, ME 04259-0179;   207-933-2100;   gkoller@maine.edu

Libby, Bradly

Horticulture

Contact Information:
Horticulture Facilities, 5762 Roger Clapp Greenhouses, Orono, ME 04469-5762;   207-581-3112;    blibby@maine.edu

Lichtenwalner, Anne

Director, University of Maine Animal Health Laboratory Small ruminant, poultry and general animal health issues.

Contact Information:
University of Maine Animal Health Laboratory, 5735 Hitchner Hall, Rm 136, Orono, ME 04469;   207-581-2789;   anne.lichtenwalner@maine.edu

Mallory, Ellen

Sustainable agriculture, soil quality, nutrient cycling and management, cropping systems

Contact Information:
School of Food & Agriculture, 495 College Avenue, Orono, ME 04473-1294;   207-581-2942;    ellen.mallory@maine.edu

Marcinkowski, David

Educational programs to the dairy industry; applied on-farm research

Contact Information:
School of Food & Agriculture, 5735 Hitchner Hall Rm 132A, Orono, ME 04469-5735;   207-581-2740 or 800-287-7170;   davidmar@maine.edu

McConnon, James

Educational programs for small business owners; research in community economic development, business development and entrepreneurship

Contact Information:
UM Cooperative Extension, 10 A Libby Hall, Orono, ME 04469-5741;   207-581-3165 or 800-287-0274;    mcconnon@maine.edu

Moran, Renae

Tree fruit culture, primarily apples

Contact Information:
Highmoor Farm, PO Box 179, Monmouth, ME 04259-0179;    207-933-2100;    rmoran@maine.edu

Murphy, Barbara

General agriculture and consumer horticulture; growing cut flowers

Contact Information:
UMCE – Oxford County, 9 Olson Rd, South Paris, ME 04281-6402;    207-743-6329;    barbara.murphy@maine.edu

Myracle, Angela D.

Elderberry production, phytochemical composition and health impact

Contact Information:
School of Food & Agriculture, 5735 Hitchner Hall Rm 107, Orono, ME 04469-5735; 207-581-1617; angela.myracle@maine.edu

Nayak, Balunkeswar

Microbial and chemical food safety; new food-processing methods for extraction of bioactive compounds; allergenicity of crustacean products

Contact Information:
School of Food & Agriculture, 5735 Hitchner Hall Rm 109, Orono, ME 04469-5735; 207-581-1629; balunkeswar.nayak@maine.edu

Ohno, Tsutomu

Soil chemistry

Contact Information:
School of Food & Agriculture, 5722 Deering Hall Rm 103, Orono, ME 04469-5722;   207-581-2975;   ohno@maine.edu

Plant, Andrew

Agriculture education, sustainability

Contact Information:
UMCE – Aroostook County, PO Box 8, Houlton, ME 04730-0008;   207-532-6548 or 800-924-7487;   aplant@maine.edu

Porter, Gregory

Potato management and physiology, crop rotation, soil health, and small grains

Contact Information:
School of Food & Agriculture, 5722 Deering Hall Rm 415, Orono, ME 04469-5722;   207-581-2943;    porter@maine.edu

Sarrantonio, Marianne

Coordinator: Sustainable Agriculture Program; soil quality; cover crops; cropping systems

Contact Information:
School of Food & Agriculture, 5722 Deering Hall Rm 115, Orono, ME 04469-5722;   207-581-2913;   mariann2@maine.edu

Singer, John

Bacterial fish diseases; disease in aquaculture; microbial physiology

Contact Information:
Molecular and Biomedical Sciences, 5735 Hitchner Hall Rm 280, Orono, ME 04469-5735;   207-581-2808;    jsinger@maine.edu

Skonberg, Denise

Quality and processing of aquatic foods and utilization of crustacean by-products

Contact Information:
School of Food & Agriculture, 5735 Hitchner Hall Rm 104, Orono, ME 04469-5735;   207-581-1639;   Denise.Skonberg@umit.maine.edu

Smagula, John

Lowbush blueberry fertility, physiology, and propagation

Contact Information:
School of Food & Agriculture, 5722 Deering Hall Rm 416, Orono, ME 04469-5722;   207-581-2925;    smagula@maine.edu

Smith, Randy

Farm superintendent; potatoes and related crops

Contact Information:
Aroostook Farm, 59 Houlton Road, Presque Isle, ME 04769;    207-762-8281;    randy.smith@maine.edu

Stack, Lois Berg

Ornamental horticulture, invasive plants

Contact Information:
UM Cooperative Extension, 495 College Avenue, Orono, ME 04473-1294;   207-581-2949;    lois.stack@maine.edu

Stokes, Martin

Ruminant nutrition, forages, silage, production, evaluation and utilization

Contact Information:
School of Food & Agriculture, 5735 Hitchner Hall Rm 130A, Orono, ME 04469-5735;   207-581-2770;    stokes@maine.edu

Sullivan, Susan

Human nutrition, clinical dietetics, vitamin D

Contact Information:
School of Food & Agriculture, 5735 Hitchner Hall Rm 123, Orono, ME 04469-5735;   207-581-3029;    susans@maine.edu

Teisl, Mario

Consumer economics; information and labeling policy; environmental economics

Contact Information:
School of Economics, 5782 Winslow Hall Rm 200, Orono, ME 04469-5782;    207-581-3162;    teisl@maine.edu

Watt, Bruce

Plant disease diagnostics

Contact Information:
UM Cooperative Extension, 491 College Avenue, Orono, ME 04473-1295;   207-581-3883;    bruce.watt@maine.edu

Weber, James

Veterinarian, Maine Animal Disease Diagnostic Lab; mammalian embryology; effects of hypothyroidism

Contact Information:
School of Food & Agriculture, 5735 Hitchner Hall Rm 342, Orono, ME 04469-5735;   207-581-2774;    jaweber@maine.edu

Wertheim, Frank

General agriculture and home horticulture

Contact Information:
UMCE – York County, 21 Bradeen Street, Suite 302, Springvale, ME 04083;   207-324-2814;    frank.wertheim@maine.edu

White, Adrienne

Human nutrition; behavior change strategies; young adult nutrition

Contact Information:
School of Food & Agriculture, 5735 Hitchner Hall Rm 113, Orono, ME 04469-5735;   207-581-3134;   awhite@maine.edu

Wu, Vivian

Food microbiology; food safety; rapid methods and automation in microbiology; pathogen control

Contact Information:
School of Food & Agriculture, 5735 Hitchner Hall Rm 101A, Orono, ME 04469;   207-581-3101;   vivian.wu@umit.maine.edu

Yarborough, David

Weed management in wild blueberries; affiliated with Blueberry Hill Farm

Contact Information:
School of Food & Agriculture, 5722 Deering Hall Rm 414, Orono, ME 04469-5722;207-581-2923;    davidy@maine.edu

 


Sidebar


Contact Information

Maine Agricultural Center
5782 Winslow Hall, Room 101
Orono, Maine 04469-5782
Phone: (207)581-3204 (800)648-0597E-mail: cherrick@maine.edu
The University of Maine
Orono, Maine 04469
207.581.1110
A Member of the University of Maine System