Skip Navigation

Faculty and Staff

LASST Faculty
Scott Collins
Scott Collins
Professor of Chemistry
scott.collins@maine.edu

MEMS/NEMS, nanofabrication, micromechanical components, microphotonic devices
William Desisto
William DeSisto
Professor of Chemical & Biological Engineering
wdesisto@umche.maine.edu
chemical vapor deposition, inorganic membranes, high-surface area structures
Frederick
Brian Frederick
Associate Professor of Chemistry
brian.frederick@umit.maine.edu
surface chemistry and catalysis, vibrational spectroscopy, time-of-flight mass spectroscopy
Peter Kleban
Peter Kleban
Professor Emeritus of Physics
kleban@maine.edu
surface physics, statistical mechanics, condensed matter theory
Robert Lad
Robert Lad
Professor of Physics
rjlad@maine.edu
materials science, ceramics, thin film synthesis, materials characterization, sensors
Robert Meulenberg
Robert Meulenberg
Associate Professor of Physics
robert.meulenberg@maine.edu
nanomaterials, photovoltaics, heterostructures, synchrotron radiation experiments
Paul Millard
Paul Millard
Associate Professor of Chemical & Biological Engineering
paul.millard@maine.edu
biosensors, physiological genomics and proteomics, microbial pathogen detection
Mauricio Pereira da Cunha
Mauricio Pereira da Cunha
Professor of Electrical & Computer Engineering
mdacunha@eece.maine.edu
microwave acoustics, piezoelectric crystals, wireless communication, harsh environment sensors
Rosemary Smith
Rosemary Smith
Professor of Electrical & Computer Engineering
rosemary.smith@maine.edu
bio-MEMS, microinstruments, microsystems engineering
Carl Tripp
Carl Tripp
Professor of Chemistry
ctripp@maine.edu
surface chemistry, infrared/raman spectroscopy, nanoporous materials, chem/bio detection
William Unertl
William Unertl
Professor Emeritus of Physics
unertl@maine.edu
nanomechanics, polymers, tribology, composite coatings, surface physics
John Vetelino
John Vetelino
Professor of Electrical & Computer Engineering
vet@eece.maine.edu
acoustic wave sensors, metal oxide sensors, chem/bio sensors

LASST Professional Staff
George Bernhardt
George Bernhardt
Research Scientist
georgeb@maine.edu
thin films, device fabrication
Michael Call
Michael Call
Research Engineer
michael.call@maine.edu
electronics, device fabrication
David Frankel
David Frankel
Senior Research Scientist
frankel@maine.edu
vacuum technology, thin films, materials analysis
Justin Millis
Justin Millis
IMB Research Engineer
justin.millis@maine.edu
NEMS/MEMS fabrication

 


LASST Administration
Sue Ashley
Susan Ashley
Administrative Assistant
sue.ashley@umit.maine.edu
Patricia Paul
Patricia Paul
Administrative Officer
patricia.paul@umit.maine.edu
 
lasst-logo_revised