Skip Navigation

Call for National Invasive Species Achievement Awards

December 17th, 2012

Posted by: Caleb Slemmons, UMaine School of Biology and Ecology

For the second time, the major national invasive species coordinating groups will present national invasive species awards during National Invasive Species Awareness Week of 2013 (March 3-8, 2013)  in order to recognize important partners, increase media and public attention for invasive species issues, and as a team-building exercise.  The second National Invasive Species Achievement Awards will be presented on behalf of the Aquatic Nuisance Species Task Force (ANSTF), the National Invasive Species Council (NISC) and the Federal Interagency Committee for the Management of Noxious and Exotic Weeds (FICMNEW). In 2012 awards were presented in the categories of leadership, volunteerism and outreach/education. Five non-monetary awards were presented in these categories (award recipient summary (PDF)).

In 2013, non-monetary awards will again be presented for outstanding achievement in the categories of leadership, volunteerism and education/outreach.  An additional category of  Lifetime Achievement will be added.  In 2013, anyone may submit a nomination or multiple nominations for the awards.  Awardees for both terrestrial and aquatic achievement may be selected for each category, if warranted.   One representative from the aforementioned groups (for a total of five) will be asked to serve on the selection committee to identify recipients of the awards.  Awards will consist of an eco-friendly plaque recognizing accomplishments of the recipients.

The Awards Overview (PDF) describes the awards and the selection criteria.  The 2013 Nomination Form (Word) provides a template to submit a nomination of either a group, organization or individual.

Nominations must be received by email or fax by C.O.B. Monday, January 21, 2013.

This is a chance to recognize the excellent work of your colleagues and partners. Please forward this information to others who may be interested in submitting a nomination. Fax # is 202.371.1751. Email:

Posted in News