Skip Navigation
Return to Layout View | Home | A-Z Directory | MaineStreet | Campus Map | Calendar
Follow UMaine on Twitter | Join UMaine on Facebook | Watch UMaine on YouTube | Admissions | Parents & Family | Apply to UMaine | Give Now | Emergency

International Programs

Site Navigation:

Study Abroad - Study Abroad Mentors

The mentors are UMaine students who have already studied abroad and are available to talk to students who are interested in studying abroad. Please contact the mentor for the country, program or scholarship you are interested in. If unsure where you want to go, contact a mentor in your major.

Mentors by Country


Edith Cowan University, Perth (Direct Exchange) – Hannah D. Dexter at

James Cook University, Townsville (GlobaLinks) – Daniel Hales at


University of Salzburg, Salzburg (AIFS) - Cory Johnson at


American University in Bulgaria (Direct Exchange) - Kaylon Brown at, Sydney Hebert at, and Taylor Tanous at


Universite de Montreal, Quebec (Direct Exchange) – Zane Sandin at

Universite Sainte Anne (Direct Enroll) – Tess Tacka at


Universidad Andres Bello (USAC) – Ryan Wahle at

Costa Rica:

University of Costa Rica, Heredia (USAC) – Lauren Aceto at

University of Costa Rica, Puntarenas (USAC) – Grant Mullen at

University Latina - San Pedro, San Jose (ISA) – Alexis Wolterbeek at

Czech Republic

Charles Univerity (USAC) – Karlie Michaud at

University of Economics Prague (ISA) – Carley Soule at


Lancaster University (Direct Exchange) – Sophie Veilleux at

Queen Mary University, London (GlobaLinks) – J’ahn Deschambeault at

University of East Anglia, Norwich (Direct Exchange) - Mary Wiley at

University of Brighton, Brighton (USAC) – Samantha Kringstad at

University of Sunderland (Direct Exchange) – Karen Brown at


Haaga-Helia University, Helsinki (Direct Enroll) – Amanda Livingston at


Sorbonne Language and Culture Studies (API) – Jennifer Ferguson at

École Européenne Supérieure d’Art de Bretagne, Site de Quimper (Direct Enroll) – Monique Boutin at

University of Pau (USAC) – Tess Tacka at


International University of Applied Sciences Bad Honnef-Bonn (Direct Exchange) – Melissa Cliff at, and Alysha Mosher at

Leuphana University, Luneburg (USAC) - Christine Gilbert at


CELL Iceland Semester  – Kaiya Torrey at

CELL Iceland Maymester – Audrey Cross at


Christ University, Bangalore (USAC) – Shelby Saucier at


University College Cork (George J. Mitchell Peace Scholarship) – Terri Bastarache at and Lorna Harriman at


Lorenzo De’ Medici, Florence (API) – Caitlynn Brown at and Allison Hammond at

University of Torino (USAC) – Catherine Hill at and Emma Wilson at


Hirosaki University (Direct Enroll) – Michael Neron at


American University of Beirut (Direct Enroll) – Bethany Warnock at


University of Utrecht (EuroScholar program, GlobaLinks) – Colby Fortier-Brown at

New Zealand

Massey University (USAC) – Megan Stevenson at

University of New Hampshire program in New Zealand – Nicollete Lynch at


University San Ignacio de Loyola (ISA) – Chelsea Hickey at


University of Glasgow (Principia Consortium) – Amy Fish at

University of Stirling (USAC) – Kathleen Vallance at

University of Stirling (CIS) – Hannah Britton at

South Africa

Cape Town Summer Health Program (IES) – Hannah Noll at


Pablo de Olavide University, Seville (ISA) – Ethan Hawes at

Universidad Rey Juan Carlos, Madrid (USAC) – Catherine Martin at

University of Granada (API) – Megan Bonney at (semester) and Allicyn Fitzgerald at (summer)

University of Sevilla (API) – Whitney Salvail at

University of Sevilla (ISA) – Hannah Siebert at


Karolinska Institute (EuroScholars, GlobaLinks) – Caitlyn Ahlberg at


Chiang Mai University (USAC) – Alexandria Sizer at, Candra Glenn at and Chaya Coleman at

Turks and Caicos Islands

Marine Science Center (School For Field Studies) – Janna Kurnick at


School Counseling Intenrship, Ho Chi Min City – Amelia Palin at


Bangor University (Direct Exchange) – Alyssa Templeton at

[back to top]

Mentors by Major

Accounting: Brittany Meservey at

Animal & Veterinary Science: Amy Fish at

Anthropology: Candra Glenn at and Shelby Saucier at

Art History: Monique Boutin at

Biochemistry: Caitlyn Ahlberg at

Bioengineering: Colby Fortier-Brown at

Biology: Mary Wiley at and Kim Dao at

Child Development and Family Relations: Sam Kringstadt at

Communication Sciences & Disorders: Kaylon Brown at

Communications: Catherine Martin at, and Chaya Coleman at

Earth Science: Cory Johnson at

Ecology & Environmental Science: Kaiya Torrey at, Audrey Cross at and Nicollete Lynch at

Education (Elementary): Caitlynn Brown at and Lorna Harriman at

Education – Student Teaching

New Zealand – Megan Nichols at

China – Kenzie McGowan at

English: Sydney Hebert at and Hannah D. Dexter at 

Finance: Michael Neron at

Financial Economics: Karlie Michaud at 

Food Science and Human Nutrition: Alexandria Sizer at

French: Zane Sandin at and J’ahn Deschambeault at

German: Christine Gilbert at

History: Kathleen Vallance at

International Affairs: Amanda Livinston, Ariel Bothen, Christine Gilbert, Hannah Siebert, Megan Bonney and Alexis Wolterbeek

Kinesiology and Exercise Science: Karen Brown at

Management: Catherine Hill at, Alysha Mosher at and Alexis Wolterbeek at

Marine Science: Janna Kurnick at

Marketing: Alexis Wolterbeek at, Melissa Cliff at  and Megan Stevenson at

New Media: Bethany Warnock at and Ryan Wahle at

Nursing: Lauren Aceto at and Allison Hammond at

Political Science: Jennifer Ferguson at, Chaya Coleman at and Taylor Tanous at

Psychology: Sophie Veilleux at

Social Work: Hannah Britton at

Sociology: Chelsea Hickey at

Spanish: Whitney Salvail at

Studio Art: Monique Boutin at

[back to top]

Mentors by Program

API: Allison Hammond, Jennifer Ferguson and Megan Bonney

Center for Ecological Living and Learning (CELL): Audrey Cross at

Direct Exchange: Alysha Mosher, Hannah D. Dexter, and Michael Neron

EuroScholars: Caitlyn Ahlberg at and Colby Fortier-Brown at

GlobaLinks: Daniel Hales at 

IES: Hannah Noll at

ISA: Hannah Siebert at

Principia Consortium: Amy Fish at

School for Field Studies: Janna Kurnick at

Semester at Sea: Ariel Bothen at and Maj Ruess at

USAC: Lauren Aceto at

[back to top]

Mentors by Scholarship

Benjamin Gilman Diversity Scholarship: Kaiya Torrey at, Shelby Saucier at and Colby Fortier-Brown at

Charles V. Stanhope ’71 Study Abroad Fellowship (Honors College) – Monique Boutin at

Direct Exchange Scholarship (UMaine) – Taylor Tanous at

George J. Mitchell Peace Scholarship: Terri Bastarache  at

Samantha Smith Scholarship: Kaylon Brown at

Whitaker Biomedical Scholarships: Colby Fortier-Brown at

Women of the World (WOW) Scholarship: Megan Bonney at

[back to top]

Last Modified On February 20, 2014

Image Description: Print Friendly

Back to Study Abroad


Contact Information

International Programs
5782 Winslow Hall, Room 100
Orono, ME 04469-5782
Phone: (207) 581-2905 | Fax: (207) 581-2920E-mail:
The University of Maine
Orono, Maine 04469
A Member of the University of Maine System