Skip Navigation

Study Abroad - Study Abroad Mentors

The mentors are UMaine students who have already studied abroad and are available to talk to students who are interested in studying abroad. Please contact the mentor for the country, program or scholarship you are interested in. If unsure where you want to go, contact a mentor in your major.


Mentors by Country

Australia   

Edith Cowan University, Perth (Direct Exchange) – Hannah D. Dexter at hannah.dexter@maine.edu

James Cook University, Townsville (GlobaLinks) – Daniel Hales at Daniel.Hales@maine.edu

Austria

University of Salzburg, Salzburg (AIFS) - Cory Johnson at cory.johnson@umit.maine.edu

Bulgaria

American University in Bulgaria (Direct Exchange) - Kaylon Brown at kaylon.brown@maine.edu, Sydney Hebert at  sydney.hebert@umit.maine.edu, and Taylor Tanous at taylor.tanous@maine.edu

Canada

Universite de Montreal, Quebec (Direct Exchange) – Zane Sandin at zane.sandin@maine.edu

Universite Sainte Anne (Direct Enroll) – Tess Tacka at tess.tacka@maine.edu

Chile

Universidad Andres Bello (USAC) – Ryan Wahle at ryan.wahle@maine.edu

Costa Rica:

University of Costa Rica, Heredia (USAC) – Lauren Aceto at lauren.aceto@umit.maine.edu

University of Costa Rica, Puntarenas (USAC) – Grant Mullen at gbmullen10@gmail.com

University Latina - San Pedro, San Jose (ISA) – Alexis Wolterbeek at alexis.wolterbeek@maine.edu

Czech Republic

Charles Univerity (USAC) – Karlie Michaud at Karlie.michaud@maine.edu

University of Economics Prague (ISA) – Carley Soule at carley.soule@umit.maine.edu

England

Lancaster University (Direct Exchange) – Sophie Veilleux at sophie.veilleux@maine.edu

Queen Mary University, London (GlobaLinks) – J’ahn Deschambeault at jahndeschambeault@gmail.com

University of East Anglia, Norwich (Direct Exchange) - Mary Wiley at mary.wiley@maine.edu

University of Brighton, Brighton (USAC) – Samantha Kringstad at SamLynnK7@aol.com

University of Sunderland (Direct Exchange) – Karen Brown at Karen_brown@umit.maine.edu

Finland

Haaga-Helia University, Helsinki (Direct Enroll) – Amanda Livingston at amanda.livingston@maine.edu

France:

Sorbonne Language and Culture Studies (API) – Jennifer Ferguson at jennifer.ferguson@maine.edu

École Européenne Supérieure d’Art de Bretagne, Site de Quimper (Direct Enroll) – Monique Boutin at monique.boutin@maine.edu

University of Pau (USAC) – Tess Tacka at tess.tacka@maine.edu

Germany

International University of Applied Sciences Bad Honnef-Bonn (Direct Exchange) – Melissa Cliff at melissa.cliff@umit.maine.edu, and Alysha Mosher at alysha.mosher@umit.maine.edu

Leuphana University, Luneburg (USAC) - Christine Gilbert at christine.gilbert@umit.maine.edu

Iceland

CELL Iceland Semester  – Kaiya Torrey at kaiya.torrey@umit.maine.edu

CELL Iceland Maymester – Audrey Cross at audrey.cross@maine.edu

India

Christ University, Bangalore (USAC) – Shelby Saucier at Shelby.saucier@umit.maine.edu

Ireland

University College Cork (George J. Mitchell Peace Scholarship) – Terri Bastarache at terri.bastarche@umit.maine.edu and Lorna Harriman at lornaharriman@gmail.com

Italy

Lorenzo De’ Medici, Florence (API) – Caitlynn Brown at caitlynn.brown@maine.edu and Allison Hammond at allison.hammond@umit.maine.edu

University of Torino (USAC) – Catherine Hill at catherine.hill@umit.maine.edu and Emma Wilson at emma.wilson@umit.maine.edu

Japan

Hirosaki University (Direct Enroll) – Michael Neron at michael.neron@umit.maine.edu

Lebanon

American University of Beirut (Direct Enroll) – Bethany Warnock at bethany.warnock@umit.maine.edu

Netherlands

University of Utrecht (EuroScholar program, GlobaLinks) – Colby Fortier-Brown at Colby.fortierbrown@umit.maine.edu

New Zealand

Massey University (USAC) – Megan Stevenson at megan.stevenson@umit.maine.edu

University of New Hampshire program in New Zealand – Nicollete Lynch at Nicollette.lynch@umit.maine.edu

Peru

University San Ignacio de Loyola (ISA) – Chelsea Hickey at Chelsea.hickey@umit.maine.edu

Scotland

University of Glasgow (Principia Consortium) – Amy Fish at amy.fish@umit.maine.edu

University of Stirling (USAC) – Kathleen Vallance at KathleenMVallance@gmail.com

University of Stirling (CIS) – Hannah Britton at hannah.britton@maine.edu

South Africa

Cape Town Summer Health Program (IES) – Hannah Noll at hannah.noll@maine.edu

Spain

Pablo de Olavide University, Seville (ISA) – Ethan Hawes at ethan.hawes@umit.maine.edu

Universidad Rey Juan Carlos, Madrid (USAC) – Catherine Martin at oyveycatie@yahoo.com

University of Granada (API) – Megan Bonney at megan.bonney@maine.edu (semester) and Allicyn Fitzgerald at allicyn.fitzgerald@umit.maine.edu (summer)

University of Sevilla (API) – Whitney Salvail at whitney.salvail@umit.maine.edu

University of Sevilla (ISA) – Hannah Siebert at hannah.siebert@umit.maine.edu

Sweden

Karolinska Institute (EuroScholars, GlobaLinks) – Caitlyn Ahlberg at caitlyn.ahlberg@umit.maine.edu

Thailand

Chiang Mai University (USAC) – Alexandria Sizer at Asizer93@yahoo.com, Candra Glenn at candraglenn@gmail.com and Chaya Coleman at colemanchaya@gmail.com

Turks and Caicos Islands

Marine Science Center (School For Field Studies) – Janna Kurnick at jlkurnick@gmail.com

Vietnam

School Counseling Intenrship, Ho Chi Min City – Amelia Palin at amelia.palin@umit.maine.edu

Wales

Bangor University (Direct Exchange) – Alyssa Templeton at alyssat115@gmail.com

[back to top]


Mentors by Major

Accounting: Brittany Meservey at brittany.meservey@umit.maine.edu

Animal & Veterinary Science: Amy Fish at amy.fish@umit.maine.edu

Anthropology: Candra Glenn at candraglenn@gmail.com and Shelby Saucier at Shelby.saucier@umit.maine.edu

Art History: Monique Boutin at monique.boutin@maine.edu

Biochemistry: Caitlyn Ahlberg at caitlyn.ahlberg@umit.maine.edu

Bioengineering: Colby Fortier-Brown at Colby.fortierbrown@umit.maine.edu

Biology: Mary Wiley at mary.wiley@maine.edu and Kim Dao at kim.dao91@gmail.com

Child Development and Family Relations: Sam Kringstadt at SamLynnK7@aol.com

Communication Sciences & Disorders: Kaylon Brown at kaylon.brown@maine.edu

Communications: Catherine Martin at oyveycatie@yahoo.com, and Chaya Coleman at colemanchaya@gmail.com

Earth Science: Cory Johnson at cory.johnson@umit.maine.edu

Ecology & Environmental Science: Kaiya Torrey at kaiya.torrey@umit.maine.edu, Audrey Cross at audrey.cross@maine.edu and Nicollete Lynch at Nicollette.lynch@umit.maine.edu

Education (Elementary): Caitlynn Brown at caitlynn.brown@maine.edu and Lorna Harriman at lornaharriman@gmail.com

Education – Student Teaching

New Zealand – Megan Nichols at megan.s.nichols@gmail.com

China – Kenzie McGowan at Geeky4Numbers@hotmail.com

English: Sydney Hebert at  sydney.hebert@umit.maine.edu and Hannah D. Dexter at hannah.dexter@maine.edu 

Finance: Michael Neron at michael.neron@umit.maine.edu

Financial Economics: Karlie Michaud at Karlie.michaud@maine.edu 

Food Science and Human Nutrition: Alexandria Sizer at Asizer93@yahoo.com

French: Zane Sandin at Zane.Sandin@maine.edu and J’ahn Deschambeault at jahndeschambeault@gmail.com

German: Christine Gilbert at christine.gilbert@umit.maine.edu

History: Kathleen Vallance at KathleenMVallance@gmail.com

International Affairs: Amanda Livinston, Ariel Bothen, Christine Gilbert, Hannah Siebert, Megan Bonney and Alexis Wolterbeek

Kinesiology and Exercise Science: Karen Brown at Karen_brown@umit.maine.edu

Management: Catherine Hill at catherine.hill@umit.maine.edu, Alysha Mosher at  alysha.mosher@umit.maine.edu and Alexis Wolterbeek at alexis.wolterbeek@maine.edu

Marine Science: Janna Kurnick at jkurnick@gmail.com

Marketing: Alexis Wolterbeek at alexis.wolterbeek@maine.edu, Melissa Cliff at melissa.cliff@umit.maine.edu  and Megan Stevenson at megan.stevenson@umit.maine.edu

New Media: Bethany Warnock at bethany.warnock@umit.maine.edu and Ryan Wahle at ryan.wahle@maine.edu

Nursing: Lauren Aceto at lauren.aceto@umit.maine.edu and Allison Hammond at allison.hammond@umit.maine.edu

Political Science: Jennifer Ferguson at jennifer.ferguson@maine.edu, Chaya Coleman at colemanchaya@gmail.com and Taylor Tanous at taylor.tanous@maine.edu

Psychology: Sophie Veilleux at sophie.veilleux@maine.edu

Social Work: Hannah Britton at hannah.britton@maine.edu

Sociology: Chelsea Hickey at Chelsea.hickey@umit.maine.edu

Spanish: Whitney Salvail at whitney.salvail@umit.maine.edu

Studio Art: Monique Boutin at monique.boutin@maine.edu

[back to top]


Mentors by Program

API: Allison Hammond, Jennifer Ferguson and Megan Bonney

Center for Ecological Living and Learning (CELL): Audrey Cross at Audrey.cross@maine.edu

Direct Exchange: Alysha Mosher, Hannah D. Dexter, and Michael Neron

EuroScholars: Caitlyn Ahlberg at caitlyn.ahlberg@umit.maine.edu and Colby Fortier-Brown at Colby.fortierbrown@umit.maine.edu

GlobaLinks: Daniel Hales at Daniel.Hales@maine.edu 

IES: Hannah Noll at hannah.noll@maine.edu

ISA: Hannah Siebert at hannah.siebert@umit.maine.edu

Principia Consortium: Amy Fish at amy.fish@umit.maine.edu

School for Field Studies: Janna Kurnick at jkurnick@gmail.com

Semester at Sea: Ariel Bothen at ariel.bothen@umit.maine.edu and Maj Ruess at majruess@gmail.com

USAC: Lauren Aceto at lauren.aceto@umit.maine.edu

[back to top]


Mentors by Scholarship

Benjamin Gilman Diversity Scholarship: Kaiya Torrey at kaiya.torrey@umit.maine.edu, Shelby Saucier at Shelby.saucier@umit.maine.edu and Colby Fortier-Brown at Colby.fortierbrown@umit.maine.edu

Charles V. Stanhope ’71 Study Abroad Fellowship (Honors College) – Monique Boutin at monique.boutin@maine.edu

Direct Exchange Scholarship (UMaine) – Taylor Tanous at taylor.tanous@maine.edu

George J. Mitchell Peace Scholarship: Terri Bastarache  at terri.bastarche@umit.maine.edu

Samantha Smith Scholarship: Kaylon Brown at kaylon.brown@maine.edu

Whitaker Biomedical Scholarships: Colby Fortier-Brown at Colby.fortierbrown@umit.maine.edu

Women of the World (WOW) Scholarship: Megan Bonney at megan.bonney@maine.edu

[back to top]

Print Friendly
Last Modified On February 20, 2014


Back to Study Abroad