Skip Navigation

Retirees - Barbara Hikel Retiree Award

Purpose: This annual award was established in 2006 by the president of the University of Maine in memory and recognition of Barbara Hikel, a long-time employee who continued to serve the university in an exemplary manner after her retirement in 2000. The award is given each year by the president to a University of Maine retiree who, after retirement, provides extraordinary voluntary service to the University of Maine.

Criteria for selection: The recipient of the Barbara Hikel Award must be a University of Maine retiree (at least 10 years of university service and age 55 or older). Typically, those eligible will have retired at least three years prior to their nomination for the award.

The primary criterion is exceptional voluntary service to the university during retirement. The final selection of the award recipient is made by the president of the University of Maine from recommendation(s) received from the President’s Council of Retired Employees. The award is normally presented at the annual Retiree Homecoming held each June.

Barbara Hikel held several diverse positions during her employment, and was financial manager of Research and Graduate Studies when she retired. Afterwards, she served on many campus committees, notably the President’s Athletic Advisory Board, the President’s Council of Retired Employees and the Combined Charitable Appeals for University Employees, where she led a record-breaking drive for contributions. She also served as a docent and all around volunteer for the School of Performing Arts. Hikel also was respected for her work promoting the status of women on campus throughout her affiliation with UMaine.

Click here for the nomination form (PDF)

Past Award Recipients

  • 2011 – Nancy MacKnight
  • 2010 – Mike Opitz
  • 2009 – Henry ‘Hank’ Metcalf
  • 2008 – Katherine Musgrave
  • 2007 – Harold ‘Brownie’ Brown
  • 2006 – Barbara Hikel (posthumous)

Back to Retirees