Special Dietary Needs
Every reasonable attempt will be made to assist you in having your needs met in our UMaine Dining facilities; however, because of the large number of customers served, it is not always possible to provide a therapeutic diet that may be needed for medical nutrition therapy. Meal plan modifications or exemptions are granted in extreme cases.
For more information please go to umaine.edu/disability/
Allergies and Intolerances
If you have a food allergy or intolerance, the staff of UMaine Dining will be pleased to assist you in determining whether a particular menu item contains an ingredient that may cause a reaction. It is highly recommended that you contact our office if you have a severe food allergy or intolerance.
- Gluten: Foods prepared in our facilities with ingredients that do not contain gluten will be labeled with a gluten-friendly (gf) icon. We have food handling and safety techniques in place which reduce the risk of cross contact. However, without dedicated gluten-free kitchens, we cannot guarantee these items will be completely gluten free.
- Dairy: Foods in our facilities that do not contain milk or dairy by-products will be labeled with a dairy-free (df) icon. When labeling we follow the Food Allergy & Anaphylaxis Network (FAAN) guidelines for foods to avoid when following a milk-free diet. FAAN guidelines can be found here.
- Nuts: Foods in our facilities that contain peanuts, tree nuts or their by-products will be labeled with a nut (n) icon. When labeling, we follow the FAAN guidelines to avoid when following a peanut- and tree nut-free diet. FAAN guidelines can be found here. Peanut- and nut-allergic customers are advised to avoid eating any baked goods due to potential for cross contact in the bakery.
- Fish: Foods in our facilities that contain fish, shellfish or their by-products will be labeled with a fish (f) icon. We label for all fin-fish as well as the shellfish and mollusks listed on the FAAN guidelines for a shellfish-free diet. FAAN guidelines can be found here. Fish and shellfish-allergic customers are advised to avoid eating any deep friend foods due to potential for cross contact in the fryers. This is regardless of whether an item is a seafood selection.
If you are MSG intolerant, click here for more information (PDF).
Ingredients and nutritional content may vary. Manufacturers may change their product formulation without our knowledge, and product availability may fluctuate. While we make every effort to identify ingredients, it is ultimately the responsibility of the customer to judge whether or not to question ingredients or choose to eat selected foods. For questions regarding ingredients, please consult a dining services manager at any time.
Gluten-Free Meal Ordering
Gluten-free meals can be ordered at the cashier stand or on-line using the order form for lunch meal periods (11 a.m.-2:30 p.m.) and dinner meal periods (4:30 p.m. – close) at our residential dining facilities. To place an order for lunch, please submit your order by 9 a.m. of the day that you would like to pick it up. To place an order for dinner, please submit your order by 2 p.m. of the day that you would like to pick it up.
You may also plan ahead and order meals up to one day in advance of pick-up. If your order is placed after these cut-off times, our staff may not see your order and your meal will not be available for pick-up.
Our goal is to have all listed menu items available, but there may be times when we do not due to vendor delivery issues. For that reason, please provide a contact number so that we can contact you and you can select something else. When you arrive at the dining facility, please ask to speak to a supervisor and they will assist you in getting your meal.
You must be pre-approved to place an order for a gluten-free meal.
Please contact Kerry Chasteen for more information: 581.4608, Kerry.firstname.lastname@example.org