Skip Navigation

Other Links - News

Breakthrough Research
Sept. 22, 2010
UMaine chemists, graduate student Gedivinne Nilmini, and Professors Ray Fort and Barbara Cole have isolated shikimic acid from white pine tree needles. Shikimic acid is a starting material for the anti-flu drug, Tamiflu. (See full story here.)

Congratulations to chemistry majors, staff and faculty for a great year! The Department of Chemistry 2010-2011 Scholarship & Award winners are listed below.


  • Hach Scholarship:  Carly Gaudette
  • Brautlecht Scholarship: Laura St. Pierre
  • Brautlecht Scholarship: Sara Knowles
  • Brautlecht Scholarship: Carly Gaudette
  • Wolfhagen Scholarship: William Laliberte
  • Brian Green Organic Chemistry Book Award: Anne Campbell
  • ACS Maine Section Award: Dan Moberg
  • Russ Scholarship: John Badger
  • Russ Scholarship: Todd Conner
  • Goodfriend Scholarship: Nicholas Harvey
  • Goodfriend Scholarship: Scott Wiseley
  • Goodfriend Scholarship: Valerie Smith
  • Outstanding Student in Analytical Chemistry Award: John Badger
  • Hubert and Patricia Ranger Scholarship:  Sorel Edes
  • Hubert and Patricia Ranger Scholarship:  Jordan Trasko
  • CRC Press Chemistry Award Scholarship: Meaghan McKinnon
  • Outstanding TAs in General Chem Award: Srimal Garusinghe & Qiong Wang
  • Outstanding TA in Organic Chem Award: Nilmini Gedivinni
  • CLAS Outstanding Graduating International Student: Brenna Walsh
  • Nominee for CLAS Outstanding Graduate Student: Asela Chandrasoma
Print Friendly

Back to Other Links