Skip Navigation
Return to Layout View | Home | A-Z Directory | my UMaine | MaineStreet | Campus Map | Calendar | Apply | Give Now | Emergency
Follow UMaine on Twitter | Join UMaine on Facebook | Watch UMaine on YouTube | Admissions | Parents & Family |

Department of Chemistry

Site Navigation:

Majoring in Chemistry - Scholarships

The Department of Chemistry offers several scholarships to majors in chemistry at the University of Maine. All current majors are considered automatically each Spring for awards that become effective the following Fall semester. The exact funding of each scholarship depends upon the performance of the University’s investment pool; amounts quoted below are approximate.

The Charles A. Brautlecht Scholarship was established in 1978 by a bequest from Louise I. Brautlecht in memory of her husband, former Professor of Chemistry, Charles A. Brautlecht. The award is based on character and scholarship in the Department, and is made for a student’s senior year. It may be divided among several students. The current value of the award is approximately $5,000.

The Paul Louis Goodfriend Scholarship was established by the Department in 1995 in memory of the late Paul Louis Goodfriend, Professor of Physical Chemistry. The current value of the award is approximately $1,000.

The James L. and Helen J. Wolfhagen Award was established in 1987, initially by a gift from then Department Chair R. C. Fort, Jr. Subsequently, the Award was endowed by the Wolfhagens themselves. The award is made to upperclass chemistry majors based on overall GPA, chemistry GPA, and performance in any independent work. Previous awardees remain eligible. The current value of the award is approximately $500.

The Charles R. and Diana E. Russ Sophomore Scholarship was established with donations from the faculty in 1992 and subsequently named for and endowed by the Russes. Charles R. Russ was taught general chemistry at UMaine for more than 30 years. The income from the fund is used to provide assistance to sophomore chemistry majors. The current value of the award is approximately $1,000.

The Donald M. Sylvester Scholarship was established with a grant from the estate of the late Mr. Sylvester, who was a UMaine chemistry graduate more than 50 years ago. The current value of the award is approximately $1,000.

The ACS – Hach Land Grant Scholarship provides financial support for chemistry majors who are in pursuit of becoming high school chemistry teachers. Recipients shall have a GPA of at least 3.0, be currently enrolled as an undergraduate chemistry major, or in a Masters program having earned an undergraduate degree in chemistry, biochemistry or chemical engineering with a commitment to become a chemistry teacher.  Financial need should be considered but shall not be the determining factor in the selection. The current value of the scholarship is $6,000. This scholarship involves an application process. Please see the Chair for more information.

For more information about these scholarships, contact Professor Barbara J. W. Cole, Chair, Department of Chemistry; (207)-581-1168 or email

Image Description: Print Friendly

Back to Majoring in Chemistry


RSS Chemical & Engineering News: Latest News

Contact Information

Department of Chemistry
156 Aubert Hall
Orono, ME 04469
Phone: (207) 581-1169 | Fax: (207) 581-1191
The University of Maine
Orono, Maine 04469
A Member of the University of Maine System