Skip Navigation

Faculty - Biological

Biological chemistry is an exciting, highly interdisciplinary field linking biology with bioanalytical, bioorganic, bioinorganic, and biophysical chemistry.  Chemists working in this area apply chemical techniques and tools to understand the molecular and cellular basis of biological processes. Research in this area includes the design, synthesis and analysis of structure and reactivity of molecules in biological contexts.

UMaine chemists are using high resolution mass spectrometry to identify specific biomarkers that indicate the presence of ovarian cancer; synthesizing gold(I) and zinc(II) thiolate complexes and investigating their reactivity with disulfide linkages in proteins; understanding are enzymes found in fungi break down lignocellulose into sugars; and using computational methods to investigate transport and reactivity of ions and small molecules  in cell membranes.

 

Contact Information Research
amar_New François G. Amar
253 Aubert Hall
(207)581-1196
amar@maine.edu
Physical
Biological
Alt. Energy
Chem Ed
Alice_100_100 Alice E. Bruce 152 Aubert Hall
(207) 581-1168
abruce@maine.edu
Inorganic
Biological
Environmental
Chem Ed
Mitchell.Bruce_100_100 Mitchell Bruce
277 Aubert Hall
(207) 581-1190
mbruce@maine.edu
Inorganic
Biological
Environmental
Alt. Energy
Chem Ed
B_Cole_web Barbara J. W. Cole 241 Aubert Hall
(207) 581-1188
cole@maine.edu
Wood
Organic
Biological
Environmental
Alt. Energy
Collins
Scott Collins
151 ESRB
(207)-581-2269
scott.collins@maine.edu
Physical
Nano/Materials
Analytical
Biological
Ray_web3 Raymond C. Fort, Jr. 252 Aubert Hall
(207) 581-1180
rcfort@maine.edu
Organic
Wood
Biological
Environmental
Alt. Energy
Jensen2 Bruce L. Jensen 177 Aubert Hall
(207) 581-1177
bruce.jensen@umit.maine.edu
Organic
Alt. Energy
Biological
Chem Ed
Jay Jayendran Rasaiah 254 Aubert Hall
(207) 581-1179
rasaiah@maine.edu
Physical
Biological
trippgrp Carl P. Tripp 275 Aubert/241 ESRB
(207)-581-2235
carl.tripp@maine.edu
Physical
Nano/Materials
Analytical
Biological
Environmental

Print Friendly


Back to Faculty