Skip Navigation

Maine Head Start Grantees


The Head Start grantees in Maine administer programs throughout the state. There are 11 Head Start grantees. Every Head Start program nationwide is guided by the federally mandated Performance Standards and required by the Federal Office of Head Start to collect, report on and use program information and child and family outcome data.

There are different Head Start program options and settings available for families in Maine:

  • Head Start refers to programs geared for children 3-5 years of age.
  • Early Head Start refers to programs geared for children 0-3 years of age.
  • Depending on the grantee and the community, both of these programs offer center-based, home-based and combination models. Many of the grantees also offer extended care options and Head Start—Public School Pre-Kindergarten programs.
  • Head Start is also available to seasonal and migrant farm families and American Indian Alaskan Native populations.

Contact the grantee in your area to learn more about eligibility requirements, and openings that may be available.


 Androscoggin Head Start & Child Care

County Served: Androscoggin
Coburn School, 269 Bates St., Lewiston, ME 04240
(207) 795-4040
Betsy Norcross Plourde, Director: bplourde@androkids.com

Aroostook County Action Program

County Served: Aroostook
P.O. Box 1116, 771 Main St., Presque Isle, ME 04769
(207) 768-3045
Sue Powers, Director: spowers@acap-me.org/

Child & Family Opportunities (CFO)

County Served: Hancock and Washington
P.O. Box 648, Ellsworth, ME 04605
(207) 667-2995 or 1-800-834-4378
Doug Orville: dougo@childandfamilyopp.org

Community Concepts

County Served: Oxford and Franklin
17 Market Square, S. Paris, ME 04281
(207) 739-6516
Heath Ouellette, Director: houllette@community-concepts.org

Kennebec Valley Community Action Program (KVCAP)

County Served: No. Kennebec and Somerset
97 Water St., Waterville, ME 04901
(207) 859-1613
Kathy Colfer, Child & Family Services Director: kathyc@kvcap.org

Midcoast Maine Community Action

County Served: Sagadahoc, Lincoln and Greater Brunswick
34 Wing Farm Pkwy., Bath, ME 04530
(207) 442-7963 ext 214 or 1-800-221-2221
Sue Kingsland, Director: sue.kingsland@mmcacorp.org

The Opportunity Alliance

County Served: Cumberland
510 Cumberland Ave., Portland, ME 04101
(207) 553-5823
Louise Marsden, VP Family and Early Childhood Education: Louise.marsden@opportunityalliance.org

Penquis Community Action Program

County Served: Penobscot, Piscataquis and Knox
P.O. Box 1162, Bangor, ME 04402-1162
(207) 973-3500
Heidi Leblanc, Director: hleblanc@penquis.org

Southern Kennebec Child Development

County Served: So. Kennebec
337 Maine Ave., Farmingdale, ME 04344
(207) 582-3110
Michele Pino, Director: michelep@skcdc.org

Waldo County Head Start

County Served: Waldo
P.O. Box 130, Belfast, ME 04915
(207) 338-6809, ext 204
Kim Cummings, Director: kcummings@waldocap.org

York County Head Start/Early Head Start

County Served: York
P.O. Box 72, Sanford, ME 04073
(207) 710-2404
Betty Graffam, Director: bettyg@yccac.org


In Maine the Tribal Head Start programs are administered by 3 different grantees.   To learn more, please contact the grantees below.

Little Feathers Head Start

Aroostook Band of Micmacs
County Served: Aroostook
13 Northern Rd.
Presque Isle, ME 04769
(207) 762-3742
Tammy Deveau, Director: ~tdeveau@micmac-nsn.gov

Maliseet Head Start

1 Maliseet Dr.
Houlton, Maine 04730
(207) 521-2410
Cindy Hutchinson, Director: ~headstart@maliseets.com

Passamaquoddy Head Start

County Served: Washington
P.O.Box 344 Perry, ME 04667
(207) 454-2128
Betty Lewey, Director: ~Passamaquoddyheadstart@roadrunner.com