Skip Navigation
Return to Layout View | Home | A-Z Directory | my UMaine | MaineStreet | Campus Map | Calendar
Follow UMaine on Twitter | Join UMaine on Facebook | Watch UMaine on YouTube | Admissions | Parents & Family | Apply | Give Now | Emergency

Department of Anthropology

Site Navigation:

Faculty & Staff

Department Chair
Gregory Zaro

Administrative Assistant

Gail Agrell

Anthropology faculty have been awarded the Top Four University Awards

Social/Cultural Anthropology



Physical Anthropology


 Cooperating  Faculty

Adjunct Faculty

Faculty Associates

Anthropology faculty have been awarded the Top Four University Awards:

Distinguished Maine Professor
James M. Acheson, 2009
Richard G. Emerick, 1966

Presidential Research and Creative Achievement Award
Paul “Jim” Roscoe, 2010
James M. Acheson, 2005

Presidential Outstanding Teaching Award
Paul “Jim” Roscoe, 1996

Presidential Outstanding Public Service Award
Edward “Sandy” Ives, 1993

Back to Top

You may visit us at our office in South Stevens Hall
or contact

Gail Agrell
Department of Anthropology
University of Maine
5773 S. Stevens Hall
Orono, Maine 04469-5773
Fax: 207.581.1823


Contact Information

Department of Anthropology
5773 S.Stevens Hall
Orono, Maine 04469-5773
Phone: (207) 581-1894 | Fax: (207) 581-1823E-mail:
The University of Maine
Orono, Maine 04469
A Member of the University of Maine System