Skip Navigation

Advisory Boards - Internal Advisory Committee

The Advancement Initiatives Council was formed in March 2009 to serve as the internal advisory committee for the ADVANCE Rising Tide Center. The AIC has been invaluable in focusing the efforts of the Rising Tide Center by supporting discussion of broader issues that affect the recruitment and retention of women faculty in all disciplines.  The AIC continues to guide our work by fostering the development of best practices in all aspects of academia.

The NSF ADVANCE program office recommended the following membership: the project PI and co-PIs, faculty, key administrators, and staff who will be impacted by ADVANCE activities or who will be providing resources or services to the project.

2014-2015 Membership (as of July 2014)

Principal Investigator and Chair

  • Jeff Hecker, Executive Vice President for Academic Affairs & Provost, Past Chair

Co-Principal Investigators

  • Amy Fried, Professor of Political Science
  • Susan Gardner, Associate Professor of Higher Education Leadership and Director of the ADVANCE Rising Tide Center
  • Eleanor Groden, Director of the School of Biology & Ecology
  • Karen Horton, Professor of Mechanical Engineering Technology

Faculty members

  • Ali Abedi, Electrical & Computer Engineering
  • Elizabeth Allan, Higher Education
  • Amy Blackstone, Sociology
  • Sandra Caron, Education and Human Development
  • Barbara Cole, Chemistry
  • Catherine Elliott, Cooperative Extension
  • Janet Fairman, Education
  • Leslie Forstadt, Cooperative Extension, Sabbatical Fall 2014
  • Michael Kinnison, Biology & Ecology
  • Jessica Leahy, Forest Resources
  • David Neivandt, Chemical & Biological Engineering
  • Terry Porter, Business Management

Adminstrators and Staff

  • Edward Ashworth, Dean of the College of Natural Sciences, Forestry, and Agriculture, Past Chair
  • Robin Delcourt, Special Assistant to the Vice President for Academic Affairs & Provost
  • Devon DeMarco, ADVANCE Rising Tide Center
  • Emily Haddad, Dean of the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
  • Julie Hopwood, Senior Advisor to the President
  • Dana Humphrey, Dean of the College of Engineering, Past Chair
  • Karen Kemble, Director of Equal Opportunity
  • Carol Kim, Vice President for Research
  • Ivan Manev, Dean of the School of Business
  • William Nichols, Dean of the College of Education
  • Judy Ryan, Vice President for Administration and Finance
  • Jeff St. John, Associate Provost for Academic Affairs
  • John Rebar, Executive Director of Cooperative Extension, Past Chair
  • Megan Sanders, Associate Vice President of Human Resources and Administration
  • Francine Sulinski, Assistant Director of Cooperative Extension
  • Stephanie Welcomer, Associate Dean of the School of Business

Membership Terms

  • The first two faculty rotated off the committee in 2012
  • Faculty senate provides at least two names each spring for new faculty members who will start in the fall
  • Current Deans to serve four, and three years
  • First member Dean exited as the end of the spring semester 2012

Back to Advisory Boards

ADVANCE Rising Tide Center Logo
"This material is based upon work supported by the National Science Foundation under Grant No. 1008498. Any opinions, findings and conclusions or recommendations expressed in this material are those of the author(s) and do not necessarily reflect the views of the National Science Foundation (NSF)." NSF Logo
ADVANCE Rising Tide Center
5703 Alumni Hall, Room 229
Orono, Maine 04469-5703
Phone: 207-581-3439 | Fax: 207-581-3450
The University of Maine
Orono, Maine 04469