Skip Navigation

Employee Resources - State Policies

Which states permit survivors of domestic violence to quit work and receive unemployment insurance? Eighteen states have passed new laws that explicitly allow survivors of domestic violence to leave their jobs due to the violence. These are California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Maine, Massachusetts, Minnesota, Montana, Nebraska, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, North Carolina, Oregon, Rhode Island, Washington, Wisconsin and Wyoming. In the 2001 and 2002 legislative sessions, bills have been introduced in Arizona, Georgia, Hawaii, Iowa, Maryland, New Mexico, North Dakota, Tennessee, Vermont, and West Virginia.


Back to Employee Resources

Office of Sexual Assault & Violence Prevention
5748 Memorial Union
Orono, Maine 04469
Phone: (207) 581-1406 | Fax: (207) 581-4215
The University of Maine
Orono, Maine 04469