Skip Navigation
Return to Layout View | Home | A-Z Directory | my UMaine | MaineStreet | Campus Map | Calendar
Follow UMaine on Twitter | Join UMaine on Facebook | Watch UMaine on YouTube | Admissions | Parents & Family | Apply | Give Now | Emergency

Cooperative Extension: 4-H

Site Navigation:

Eastern States Exposition (ESE or The Big E) - Morris Scholarship

Every two years Maine has the opportunity to select an Eastern States Exposition participant to receive a $500 scholarship towards continuing his or her education beyond high school, and this is one of our years!

This is a scholarship that was established by The Morris Family who are longtime concessionaires at ESE.  A total of three $500 scholarships are awarded each year.  In 2013 and future odd-numbered years, Maine, New Hampshire, and Vermont will each name a scholarship recipient.  In even-numbered years, Massachusetts, Rhode Island, and Connecticut name a scholarship recipient.

Eastern States would like our recipient from Maine to be present on 4-H Day (the first Saturday of ESE, September 14, 2013) at The Big E for the presentation ceremony. All 4-H members who represent Maine at Eastern States this year or in a prior year are eligible for this scholarship.


To be eligible for the Maine 2013 Big E Morris 4-H Scholarship, nominees must:

  1. Be a member of a current or prior Maine ESE team Beef, Dairy, Dog, Goat, Horse, Sheep, Working Steer, or New England Center Program.
  2. Graduate from high school in 2013 or 2014 and continue their education beyond high school in one of the following: two- or four-year colleges or universities, technical schools, professional training, or apprenticeship programs.
  3. Have demonstrated leadership as a Maine 4-H member at the local, state, or regional level.
  4. Be a junior or senior in high school and in good academic standing.
  5. Be recommended by the appropriate Animal Science Committee or the New England Center Program Coordinator.

Application Process:

Complete applications must be received by 4:30 p.m., Monday, August 5, 2013

To be considered, applications must include an Application Checklist WordPDF and these three components:

1)     A letter of nomination and recommendation from the Animal Science Coordinator, or New England Center Program Coordinator, or their designee. If the  Coordinator is a parent or close relative, another member of the committee should write a recommendation.

2)     A letter from the nominee regarding their qualifications for the scholarship that includes information about their:

a)     Participation on a Maine ESE team in 2013 or prior.

b)     Intention to continue their education beyond high school in 2013 or 2014, including area of study or training and possible location.

c)      Demonstrated leadership as a Maine 4-H member at the local, state, or regional level.

3)     A copy of the applicant’s high school transcript or equivalent.

Application materials must be sent to:
Jessy Brainerd
Maine State 4-H Office
5741 Libby Hall, Room 103
Orono, ME  04469-5741
Fax: 207-581-1387

All applications and supporting materials must be received, by mail, fax, or e-mail, by 4:30 p.m., Monday, August 5, 2013.  Incomplete applications will not be considered.

Applications will be reviewed by a selection committee at the State 4-H Office.

The winner will be notified by Friday, August 23, 2013.  ESE has requested that the scholarship recipients be present at ESE on 4-H Day, September 14, 2013, to receive their award.  If the Maine winner is not able to attend, we will designate someone to receive the award on his or her behalf.

If you have any questions, please contact Donna Flint at 1-800-287-1535 or Michaele Bailey at 1-800-287-0274.

Image Description: Print Friendly

Back to Eastern States Exposition (ESE or The Big E)


The University of Maine Cooperative Extension 4-H

University of Maine Cooperative Extension

Search the 4-H Site

Contact Information

Cooperative Extension: 4-H
103 Libby Hall
Orono, Maine 04469
Phone: 1.800.287.0274
The University of Maine
Orono, Maine 04469
A Member of the University of Maine System