Skip Navigation
Return to Layout View | Home | A-Z Directory | my UMaine | MaineStreet | Campus Map | Calendar | Apply | Give Now | Emergency
Follow UMaine on Twitter | Join UMaine on Facebook | Watch UMaine on YouTube | Admissions | Parents & Family |

Celebrating 150 years

Site Navigation:


School spirit, circa 1987

In 1986, Dale Lick became president.

That same year, the name of the flagship was restored to the University of Maine.

In 1992, Frederick Hutchinson became president.

In 1992, Scott Pellerin won the Hobey Baker Award, given to the top NCAA men’s ice hockey player.

In 1993, the men’s ice hockey team won the NCAA Division I National Championship, besting Lake Superior State 5–4. Paul Kariya won the Hobey Baker Award.

The Black Bear Food Guild was established in 1994.


Back to through the decades

Image Description: 1987


Contact Information

Celebrating 150 years
The University of Maine
Orono, Maine 04469
A Member of the University of Maine System