Skip Navigation
Return to Layout View | Home | A-Z Directory | my UMaine | MaineStreet | Campus Map | Calendar | Apply | Give Now | Emergency
Follow UMaine on Twitter | Join UMaine on Facebook | Watch UMaine on YouTube | Admissions | Parents & Family |

Celebrating 150 years

Site Navigation:


Students working in a lab, circa 1983

Alfond Arena, named for benefactor Harold Alfond, was dedicated in 1977.

Paul Silverman became president in 1980.

In 1980, the federal government designated UMaine as a Sea Grant College under a program conducted with the University of New Hampshire; in 2004, UMaine received the designation for its own program.

Arthur Johnson became president in 1984.


Back to through the decades

Image Description: Class Scenes 1980-1983


Contact Information

Celebrating 150 years
The University of Maine
Orono, Maine 04469
A Member of the University of Maine System